West Virginia’s Constitution protects citizen’s rights to bear arms. West Virginia firearm laws govern the sale, possession, purchase, and transfer of guns in the state. Although the state preempts gun laws, some counties have grandfathered ordinances that overrule state law. No specific types of firearms are prohibited in West Virginia. As long as you are not prohibited from owning a gun, private gun sales are legal without a background check in West Virginia. They do have laws regarding criminal convictions and age restrictions though. As long as you are 18 years old or older, you can open carry in West Virginia. You can conceal carry when you are 21, both without a permit. However, if you are between the ages of 18-20, you do need a license to concealed carry a gun. West Virginia is a constitutional carry state and has some of the most permissive gun laws in the country. There are currently 147,801 handgun permits in West Virginia.
West Virginia’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
West Virginia honors permits from states that are on their reciprocity list. These thirty-six states honor West Virginia’s gun permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
West Virginia honors gun permits for the following thirty-four states
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Wyoming. These thirteen states will not honor a West Virginia gun permit, California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, and the District of Columbia.
Open carry is legal for residents of the state as long as they are 18 or older. You can conceal carry if you are 21. If you are between the ages of 18-20, you need a permit to concealed carry. As long as you are 21, you can carry a loaded weapon in your car. If you are a member of the military, you only need to be 18. You do not have to notify officers when you carry. You do not have to observe any “no weapons” signs either. You may carry legally in state parks, wildlife preserves, and restaurants that serve alcohol. West Virginia is a constitutional carry state, and no concealed carry permit is required. You cannot carry on school property, a school bus, state offices, jail or prisons, courthouses, municipal buildings, where signs are posted or private property. You can carry in your vehicle, state parks, national forests, wildlife preserves, and rest areas.
To qualify for a concealed handgun permit, you must be at least 18 and need to take an approved firearms training course. You will need your photo ID and proof of the course. You also need to fill out the application and pay a $75 fee. The permit is good for five years. If you are renewing your renewal application must be notarized. A provisional CHL is required for 18-20-year-olds so they can legally conceal carry until they turn 21.
There is no waiting period to purchase a gun in West Virginia. You cannot buy a gun however, if you are convicted of domestic abuse, stalking, if you are mentally unstable, addicted to alcohol or drugs, convicted of a felony, dishonorably discharged from the military, been in jail for a year or more or are an illegal alien in the U.S. West Virginia gun dealers are required by federal law to run a background check on anyone wishing to purchase a gun in the state.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Optional CHL | License to carry a concealed deadly weapon (handguns)||$75.00||$75.00||$150.00||There is an additional fee for background checks that must be paid when you pickup your license:|
Optional CHL – $25.00
Provisional CHL – $15.00
|Provisional CHL | License to carry a concealed deadly weapon (handguns)||$25.00||Not Renewable||$150.00||There is an additional fee for background checks that must be paid when you pickup your license:|
Optional CHL – $25.00
Provisional CHL – $15.00
|State parks||The State Capitol Complex|
|State and national forests||Regional jails, detention facilities or State Division of Corrections facilities|
|Road side rest areas||County courthouses or any facility housing a court of this state|
|Vehicle||A school bus, any public/private education structure, building or facility|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Any building or area limited by municipal code|
|Any property where firearms are prohibited by the owner|
|Wherever signs are posted indicating weapon restrictions|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||N/A|
|Address:||Office of Attorney General|
State Capitol Complex, Bldg. 1, Room E-26
|City:||Charleston, WV 25305|
8 North Main Street Philippi, WV 26416
510 South Raleigh Street Martinsburg, WV 25401
200 State Street, Madison, WV 25130
300 Main Street, Sutton, WV 26601
632 Main Street Wellsburg, WV 26070
750 5th Ave., Suite 101, Huntington, West Virginia 25701
363 Main Street 204 Grantsville, WV 26147
246 Main St, Clay, WV 25043