Gun laws in Vermont are incredibly permissive; some say the least restrictive in the country. Vermont is an “Unrestricted” state in terms of gun regulations. Vermont does not issue concealed carry permits and treats residents and non-residents the same in terms of carrying. Vermont allows open carry and concealed carry to anyone who is at least 16 years old. Per federal regulations, however, you have to be 18 years old. For reciprocity reasons, other states honor a Vermont driver’s license as a concealed carry permit. Vermont does ban all magazines that hold more than 15 rounds. All gun sale transactions must be processed through a licensed dealer. Anyone who has completed a firearms training course or is in the military is exempt from this rule. New laws passed in 2018 require you to be 21 before purchasing a gun, and they ban bump stocks, handgun magazines that hold more than 15 rounds and long gun magazines that hold more than ten rounds. These new laws also give local police the right to confiscate firearms if they feel you are a danger to yourself of others.
Vermont’s policy is Unrestricted in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Reciprocity between states, allow gun owners to travel with their firearms across state lines. Vermont is very generous with reciprocity and honors all state permits. These nine states honor reciprocity for Vermont using a photo ID
Alaska, Arizona, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, Oklahoma, and West Virginia.
Vermont honors these state’s gun permits:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, the District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
Although Vermont does not issue concealed carry permits, they do allow open and concealed carry called “permitless carry.” You may have a loaded weapon in all state parks, national forests, rest areas, and your vehicle. You may not have a loaded weapon in schools, on a school bus, a courthouse, any state government building or property, or anywhere with a metal detector and screening process. You do not need to notify an officer if you are carrying. You do, however, need to honor all “no weapons” signs where posted. With or without a permit you can carry in your own car, open carry and carry in restaurants, even if they serve alcohol.
Vermont does not issue permits but allows “permitless carry” instead. For purposes of reciprocity, you must have a driver’s license or other photo ID. New laws in 2018 do require you to be 21 to purchase a firearm and bans some types of ammunition and guns. The rural landscape and nature of Vermont and its avid hunters, is why the state has so few gun laws. However, gun dealers are required to record and keep all firearms purchases on record for a number of years.
Vermont is not a “point of contact” state and does not require a state-level background check for purchasing a gun. However, licensed dealers must comply with federal regulations and contact the FBI using NCIS and run a full background check on anyone buying a firearm in the state. Dealers must also keep detailed records of every gun sold.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Does not issue permits||N/A|
|State parks||School building or school property|
|State and national forests||School bus|
|Road side rest areas||Courthouse|
|Vehicle||Any state institution|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||A building with controlled points of public access, metal screening devices at each point of public access, and locked compartments accessible only to security personnel for storage of checked firearms|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|