South Dakota gun laws regulate the sale, possession, use, and transfer of firearms and ammunition in the state. South Dakota is a “Shall Issue” state, and the local county sheriff’s office issue permits to residents only. They offer three levels of CCW’s, Regular, Gold, and Enhanced. The military is exempt from some of the gun laws in South Dakota, and they are given special treatment. South Dakota allows open carry without a permit. The Enhanced license is for additional reciprocity, and you have to take an intense firearms training course before applying. Concealed carry, however, is not legal in schools, courthouses or anywhere they serve alcohol. You can transport your loaded weapon, without a permit as long as it is clearly visible. You must have a concealed carry permit when purchasing a firearm from any Federal Firearms License (FFL) dealer. You will be subject to a background check. South Carolina retains the rights for gun laws and does not allow counties to override them.
South Dakota’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Reciprocity allows gun permit holders to travel with their loaded weapon across state lines. These thirty-four states honor a South Dakota gun permit
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
South Dakota honors permits from these fifty-three states and territories
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
South Dakota is a “Shall Issue” state for permits and issues them only for residents. The local county sheriff’s office issues permits. The permits are good for five years and cost only $10. There are three types available, Regular (you must have a clean criminal record for five years to apply), Gold (you have to undergo a background check with fingerprinting) and Enhanced (you must have a background check, fingerprinting and take a firearms course). With a permit, you can carry in national forests, state parks, your vehicle and restaurants that serve alcohol. You cannot carry in bars, courthouses, schools, while riding a snowmobile, or in a game preserve. You are not obligated to notify officers or observe any “no weapons” signs. Open carry is allowed with or without a permit.
To apply for a concealed carry permit, you must be at least 18 years old. You cannot be convicted of a felony, or have a habitual drug or alcohol problem. You cannot have a history of violence or be perceived as a “danger to others or yourself.” You cannot have any prior firearm violations, and you must reside in the county where you apply for at least thirty days. You must also comply with all federal concealed carry laws, and as such, you may have any mental illness or felonies on your criminal record. You will be provided a temporary permit within five days and then receive your permanent one soon after. The cost for a Regular license is $10, the fee for a Gold permit is $70, and the price for an Enhanced is $100.
South Dakota is not a “point of contact” state and therefore all licensed gun dealers must contact the FBI and use NCIS to obtain a background check before selling firearms to buyers. However, the state does run background checks, along with fingerprinting with a concealed carry weapons license. Private sales are not subject to background check laws.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Regular Permits (Requires clean SD criminal record for five years) | Permit to carry a concealed pistol||$10.00||$10.00||$97 - $125|
|Cold Card Permits| Permit to carry a concealed pistol||$70.00||$70.00||43.25||$97 - $125||Requires fingerprinting and a Federal background check.|
|Enhanced Permit | Permit to carry a concealed pistol||$100.00||$50.00 (if 30 days after expiration fee is $100.00)||43.25||$97 - $125||Requires fingerprinting, Federal background check and a firearms safety course.|
|State parks||An establishment licensed to serve alcoholic beverages on the premises if the establishment derives more than 50% of its sales from alcoholic beverages|
|State and national forests||A county courthouse|
|Road side rest areas||An elementary or secondary school premises, including school vehicles or buildings|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||A game preserve or refuge|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||N/A|
|Address:||Secretary of State|
500 East Capitol Avenue, Ste 204,
|City:||Pierre, SD 57501|
401 Main St, Plankinton, SD 57368
455 4th St SW, Huron, SD 57350
201 State St, Martin, SD 57551
300 W Cherry St, Tyndall, SD 57066
315 7th Ave, Brookings, SD 57006
22 Court St #1, Aberdeen, SD 57401
201 W Kellam Ave, Chamberlain, SD 57325
112 Osman Avenue Gann Valley, SD 57341