Gun laws in Oregon are very permissive, and their concealed carry laws are notably unrestricted. Oregon is a “Shall Issue” state for concealed carry licenses. Gun laws in Oregon govern the use, sale, purchase, and transfer of guns and ammunition within the state. Oregon maintains the rights to gun laws and local counties are not allowed to override them. County sheriff’s provide concealed carry licenses and in very few exceptions deny people who they feel may be a danger to themselves or others. Oregon is also an open-carry state. Oregon does not offer reciprocity to other states. Therefore, non-residents must apply for a permit in the state. Individuals under the age of 18 may not legally own a firearm. There is no waiting period to purchase a gun in Oregon. However, you will be subject to a background check. Assault weapons are illegal in Oregon along with some types of ammunition. The Oregon state police keep records of all gun sales in the state and retain them for up to five years.
Oregon’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Although Oregon does not offer other states reciprocity, other states do honor an Oregon gun permit. These twenty-three states honor an Oregon gun permit for residents
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia. These states allow a gun permit from Oregon for non-residents, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia.
These twenty-seven states do not honor an Oregon gun permit
California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, North Dakota, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and the District of Columbia.
Oregon is a “Shall Issue” state and concealed carry laws are very loose. The county sheriff approves or denies your application within 45 days. You can apply for a non-resident license, only if you reside in a state that borders Oregon. There are only a few places where you cannot carry your firearm in Oregon. They include courthouses, private businesses, private property, racecourses, correctional facilities, Indian reservations and any federal “off limits” areas. You can carry a loaded weapon in your vehicle, but you do not have to notify an officer if you are carrying. You also do not have to legally obey any “no weapons” signs, and you can open carry throughout most of the state. You can carry to state parks and restaurants that serve alcohol.
To qualify for a concealed carry permit in Oregon, you must be 21 years old. You must also show proficiency with a handgun by taking a firearms course. You must live in the town where you apply, and your driver’s license must have your current address on it. You must be a legal U.S. citizen and have no federal restrictions as to why you couldn’t own a gun. You cannot be a drug addict or have any outstanding warrants in your name. You also cannot be a sex offender or not be in the process of any pre-trial release program. The permit is good for four years and costs $65 when you apply.
Oregon is a full “point of contact” state and therefore before any dealer sells a firearm, he or she must contact the Oregon Department of State Police (DSP) for a thorough background check and fingerprinting. They must also contact the FBI using NCIS and check the person’s criminal history and mental health status. Usually, this process takes less than 30 minutes. There is no waiting period to purchase a gun in Oregon. These laws apply to private sales and unlicensed dealers as well.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|License to carry a concealed handgun||$50.00 (Varies by County)||$50.00||Replacement: $15|
|$15.00||$45 - $150||$15 fee for State Police fingerprint check.|
|State parks||Posted private property where the owner prohibits firearms|
|State and national forests||Posted private businesses|
|Road side rest areas||State courthouses|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Racecourse|
|Indian reservation and some casinos on reservations, unless permission granted|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||8:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||Oregon State Police CJIS Division|
Identification Services Section
3565 Trelstad Ave SE
|City:||Salem, OR 97317|
|Phone:||(503) 378-3070 |
3410 K Street Baker City, OR 97814
180 NW 5th Street Corvallis, OR 97330
Public Safety Training Center 12700 SE 82nd Ave., Clackamas, OR 97015
(503) 785-5000 or 503-794-8059 (If you need assistance applying online)
1190 SE 19th St, Warrenton, OR 97146
901 Port Ave., St. Helens, OR 97051
250 N. Baxter Street Coquille, Oregon 97423
308 NE 2nd Street Prineville, OR 97754
29808 Colvin Street Gold Beach, Oregon 97444