Oklahoma Gun Laws

Gun Control Laws in Oklahoma

Oklahoma gun laws regulate the possession, use, sale, and purchase of firearms in the state. The Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation issues concealed carry licenses. It can take up to 90 days for processing and approval. You are only allowed to open carry with a permit. You must be at least 18 to purchase a firearm in Oklahoma. Selling to anyone younger than that will net you 180 days in jail. Minors can own guns that were provided by their parents, but they may never use them unsupervised. Oklahoma preempts the gun laws in the state, and therefore, counties may not overrule them with their own. Machine guns are illegal in Oklahoma. Oklahoma issues permits to resident and the military. They do not allow non-residents to carry Oklahoma gun permits. Further restrictions apply such as being 21 or older and taking an approved handgun course before requesting a license. You are also limited by the caliber of gun/ammunition you can use to .48.

State CCW Quick Facts

  • No-Without a Permit/License Open Carry Permitted
  • No Constitutional Carry
  • Yes-In Restaurants That Serve Alcohol Carry In Restaurants
  • Yes/No-Without a Permit/License Carry In Vehicle
  • Residents License issued to
  • 37 # of states that honor Oklahoma license
  • 53 # of state licenses that Oklahoma honors
  • 5 Years license is valid
  • 100 $ cost of the license
  • 21 Minimum age for license permit

OK CCW Reciprocity Map

These thirty-eight states honor an Oklahoma gun permit for residents 

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.

These states honor an Oklahoma gun permit for non-residents 

Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming. The state of Oklahoma honors gun permits from these states only, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, the District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.

AK AL AR AZ CA CO CT DE FL GA HI IA ID IL IN KS KY LA MA MD ME MI MN MS MO MT NC ND NE NH NJ NM NV NY OH OK OR PA RI SC SD TN TX UT VA VT WA WI WV WY DC
  • Permit honored
  • Permit not honored
  • Issuing state

Oklahoma Concealed Carry Laws and Permit

Oklahoma is a very gun-friendly state, and the concealed carry laws are quite lax. There are a few restrictions, however. You can carry in state parks and national forests but not the buildings there. You can also legally carry in your vehicle, but only with a license. You cannot carry in schools, sporting events, government buildings, law enforcement agencies or detention centers. You cannot carry in bars or places where pari-mutuel wagering is legal. You must notify an officer if you are carrying, but you do not have to honor any “no weapons” signs. You can only open carry when you have a permit. You can carry into restaurants, even those that serve alcohol. You must also obey federal laws and “off limits” areas for carrying a weapon.

CCW Eligibility: Qualify or Pre-Qualify?

You must apply for a concealed carry permit with the local county sheriff’s office where you live. You must also be 21 years old and a U.S. citizen. You must be a resident of Oklahoma and a photo ID with your correct address on it for proof of residency. You must complete an authorized firearms training course and read and obey the Oklahoma Self Defense Act. You cannot have any convictions for battery, assault, stalking, domestic abuse, any drug violations, two DUIs in the past three years or any character defect showing you are a habitual criminal. You must also follow all federal laws of eligibility.

Oklahoma Gun Background Check

Oklahoma is not a “point of contact” state and therefore licensed dealers must contact the FBI directly and use NCIS to perform a full background check on someone before selling them a gun or ammunition. Anyone engaged in a private sale does not have to complete a background check before selling.

CCW Permit Information

Requirements

  • Must be at least 21 years of age
  • A citizen of the United States
  • You are a resident of Oklahoma State
  • You must have a valid Oklahoma driver license or state photo identification card.
  • You have read and become knowledgeable of the Oklahoma Self Defense Act
  • You have completed an approved firearms training class or obtained an exemption
  • You must not have any convictions for the following offenses; assault and battery, which caused serious physical injury to the victim, or any second or subsequent assault and battery conviction; aggravated assault and battery; stalking; a violation relating to the Protection from Domestic Abuse Act, or any violation of a victim protection order of another state; any conviction relating to illegal drug use or possession; or an act of domestic abuse or domestic assault and battery.
  • Must not have two or more convictions for public intoxication in last 3 years.
  • Must not have 2 or more convictions for Driving Under the Influence and/or Intoxication in last 3 years.
  • You have no significant character defects evidenced by a misdemeanor criminal record indicating habitual criminal activity.
  • Federal law requirements

Application

  1. Read the Oklahoma Self Defense Act.
  2. Complete the firearm’s safety class or obtain an exemption.
  3. Download the application form or pickup at your local sheriffs office. Applications can also be made online.
  4. You will need the following documents; Firearms training certificate 2 color passport style photos Completed application Drivers license or state ID car
  5. Take the application, photos, your drivers license or state ID card and training certificate to the Sheriffs office in the county you reside in.
  6. The Sheriff will take your fingerprints.
  7. You will be notified by mail if your application has been approved.

Renewal

  • Renewal applications can be made within 90 days of the expiry date.
  • If your permit expired no more than 3 years ago it can still be renewed.
  • A new permit application must be made if the permit expired over 3 years ago.
  • Renewal applications can be made through the mail or online.
  • Two passport photos and renewal fee must be sent with mail applications.
  • Mailing address Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation Self-Defense Act Licensing Unit 6600 North Harvey Place Oklahoma City, OK 73116

Oklahoma CCW License Fee information

Permit type Fees when getting a new permit Renewal Current license amendment Fingerprint scan fee Fee for firearm classes Additional state fees
Self Defense Act license (to carry concealed handguns) | 5 Years License $100.00 Renewal Application: $85.00
Expired Renewal Application (License expired less than 3 years): $85.00
Expired Renewal Application (License expired more than 3 years): $100.00
$25.00 $50.00 - $60.00 The sheriff will require an additional fee of $25.00 for fingerprinting.
Self Defense Act license (to carry concealed handguns) | 10 Years License $200.00 Renewal Application: $170.00
Expired Renewal Application (License expired less than 3 years): $$170
Expired Renewal Application (License expired more than 3 years): $200.00
$25.00 $50.00 - $60.00 The sheriff will require an additional fee of $25.00 for fingerprinting.
Instructors Application $100.00 $100.00

Places Where You Can & Can’t Carry a Gun in Oklahoma

Allowed Forbidden
State park’s – but not in buildings Any prison, jail or detention facility
State and national forests – but not in buildings Any public or private elementary or public or private secondary school
Road side rest areas – but not in buildings Any sports arena during a professional sporting event
Vehicle Any place where pari-mutuel wagering is authorized by law
Any property set aside for the use or parking of any vehicle Any other place specifically prohibited by law
All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden Any structure, building, or office space which is owned or leased by a city, town, county, state or federal governmental authority for the purpose of conducting business with the public
Under the influence of alcohol or drugs
State wild life management area’s
Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law

Oklahoma CCW Contact

Oklahoma Bureau of Firearms

Hours

Monday – Friday: 8:00 am - 5:00 pm
Saturday: Closed
Sunday: Closed

Contact

Address: Oklahoma State Bureau of Investigation
6600 North Harvey Place
City: Oklahoma City, Ok 73116
Phone: (405) 879-2690
Toll Free: (800) 207-6724

CCW Licensing Offices in Oklahoma

Adair County Sheriff Office

Office Address
600 Paul Meade Road, Stilwell, OK 74960

Phone
(918) 696-2106

Show on Map

Alfalfa County Sheriff Office

Office Address
300 South Grand Ave. Cherokee, OK 73728

Phone
(580) 596-3269

Show on Map

Atoka County Sheriff Office

Office Address
200 E. Court street, Atoka, OK 74525

Phone
(580) 889-2424

Show on Map

Beaver County Sheriff Office

Office Address
245 Avenue E Beaver, OK 73932

Phone
(580) 625-4549

Show on Map

Beckham County Sheriff Office

Office Address
108 South 3rd St Sayre, OK 73644

Phone
(580) 928-2121

Show on Map

Blaine County Sheriff Office

Office Address
205 N. Burford Watonga, OK 73772

Phone
(580) 623-5111

Show on Map

Bryan County Sheriff Office

Office Address
402 West Evergreen St., Durant, OK 74701

Phone
(580) 924-3000

Show on Map

Caddo County Sheriff Office

Office Address
201 W Oklahoma ave., Anadarko, OK 73005

Phone
(405) 247-6666

Show on Map

Show More

Reference Links