North Dakota has put into place a set of gun laws that regulate the ownership, sale, transfer, and purchase of firearms in the state. Concealed carry permits are issued by the North Dakota Bureau of Criminal Investigation (BCI). North Dakota is a “Shall Issue” state and operates “Unrestricted.” There are two types of permits that you can apply for, Class 1 and Class 2. As of March 2017, North Dakota is now a constitutional carry state and residents can open carry or concealed carry with a permit. The state enforces gun laws and does not allow counties to overrule them in regards to sale, possession, transfer or purchase. Applicants for a concealed carry permit must pass a written test given by the local sheriff’s office. North Dakota issues permits for residents and non-residents. Although an open carry state, there are a few areas where you cannot carry such as public gatherings, concerts, and churches.
North Dakota’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Thirty-nine states allow a North Dakota gun permit for residents and they are
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. These states allow a North Dakota gun permit for non-residents for purposes of reciprocity, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
North Dakota offers reciprocity with these following states:
North Dakota, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
North Dakota is a “Shall Issue” state, and although they allow open carry, permits are required in some situations and for reciprocity. For example, you cannot have a gun in your vehicle unless you have a concealed carry permit. The attorney general’s office issues concealed carry permits. After applying you may wait up to 60 days for approval or denial. You do not have to notify officers when you are carrying a concealed weapon. You can only open carry legally with a permit, but you do not have to obey any “no weapons” signs. You can carry in restaurants that serve alcohol, but only if you are twenty-one years or older. You are allowed to take firearms into state parks. You may not, however, carry in schools, athletic events, musical concerts, political rallies, bars or gaming places, or private property. You must also observe all federal regulations regarding carry.
When applying for a Class 2 permit, you must be at least 18 years old. For a Class 1 permit, you must be twenty-one or older. You must also be a legal U.S. citizen and legally able to possess a firearm. You must be a resident of North Dakota and have a driver’s license to prove it. You must also complete the proper training and fill out an application and complete the written test. You will undergo a state-level background check and must not have any convictions or infractions which make you ineligible. You must follow all federal laws regarding qualification also, and you can not have any felonies or be mentally ill.
North Dakota is a not a “point of contact” state, and it does not require gun dealerships to run a state-level background check before selling guns and ammunition. However, licensed dealers are required to contact the FBI and run a background check through NCIS before selling to a buyer. If a North Dakota resident has a permit to carry, then the background check will be waived.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Concealed weapon license (handguns)||$60.00||$60.00||$50 - $100|
|State parks||Public gatherings|
|State and national forests||Athletic or sporting events|
|Road side rest areas||Schools or school functions|
|Vehicle||Churches or church functions|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Political rallies or functions|
|Any establishment that sells alcoholic beverages or is used as a gaming site|
|Individuals in publicly owned parks where hunting is not allowed by proclamation and publicly owned or operated buildings|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||9:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||Office of Attorney General|
Bureau of Criminal Investigation
600 East Boulevard Avenue
|City:||Bismarck, ND 58505|
604 Adams Ave, Hettinger, ND 58639
575 10th St SW #4, Valley City, ND 58072
311 B Ave S, Minnewaukan, ND 58351
495 4th St, Medora, ND 58645
314 5th St W, Bottineau, ND 58318
104 1st St NW #9, Bowman, ND 58623
103 Railway St SE, Bowbells, ND 58721
514 E Thayer Ave, Bismarck, ND 58501