New York’s gun laws are in place to control the purchase, use, ownership, and transfer of firearms in the state. New York has some of the strictest gun laws in the country, and New York State has different rules than New York City. New York is a “May Issue” state and local police issue permits. Therefore the fate of your application is in the hands of the officer who processes it. Interestingly, the more people per town, the harsher the gun laws. Even with the strict gun laws, New York currently has 88,205 active gun permits. You can own and possess long guns in New York without a license. Assault weapons are banned in New York. New York City does require a permit to own handguns and long guns. If you want a license in New York, you will have to prove a good reason for needing one. Part-time state residents are eligible to get a permit if they want to apply. Rural areas of New York State have much more permissive gun laws. In with their strict rules, New York bans specific types of ammunition also. A New York State permit is valid everywhere in the state except for New York City.
New York’s policy is May Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: forestry lands, owned and maintained by the state university of new york college of environmental science and forestry, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
States enter into reciprocity agreements so that gun permit owners can travel between states with their firearms. These twenty-three states honor a New York gun permit:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin. New York state only honors New York City permits.
The following twenty-eight states will not honor a New York gun permit
California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York City, North Dakota, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
New York is a “May Issue” state for permits. It can take up to 4-6 months to be approved for a gun permit in New York and some counties even 14 months. You can only carry specific handguns listed on the approved list. The license costs $20, and they are good for five years. The process of obtaining one and difficulty varies significantly from county to county. There are seven types of licenses you can apply for. You begin by applying with your local police or sheriff’s office. You will need four personal references (no family members). New York does not offer permits to non-residents. You are required to complete a 4-8 hour training class. You cannot take a firearm into airports, your vehicle, courthouses, government buildings, schools or other educational facilities, New York City or any mental health center.
It depends on the county, but the requirements to apply for a gun permit in New York are very long. First, you must be at least twenty-one years old. Some places require you take a 4-8 hours training course. You must be of “good moral character” and reside in the county where you apply. You need to prove a good reason for needing one, and you must not have any protective court orders against you. You cannot have any felonies on your record or any reason you would be denied. You must be a legal U.S. citizen and not have any misdemeanors for domestic abuse. You cannot have any mental illness or be under the care of a guardian.
New York is not a “point of contact” state. Therefore, licensed dealers must contact the FBI and perform a background check through NCIS on prospective buyers. The only exception to this is when a dealer facilitates the transfer of the weapon from one family member to another. Dealers must keep detailed records of every sale, transfer, disposal and are subject to surprise inspections.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|License to purchase, possess, and carry||$20.00||Up to $10 (varies by county)||Duplicate: $18|
Name, Address change: $3
County transfer: $8
|$10.00||$65.00||An additional fee of $10 may be charged for processing your fingerprints.|
|New York City|
|Handgun Licenses (various)||$340.00||$340.00||$87.00|
|Rifles and Shotguns Permit||$140.00||$140.00||$87.00|
|Owned and maintained by the State University of New York College of environmental science and forestry||Government buildings – in certain cities and counties|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||New York airports|
|Building or grounds used for educational purposes of any school, college, or university|
|Within the city of New York unless a special permit granting validity is issued by the police commissioner of that city|
|At any facility operated or licensed by the Office of Mental Health|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law.|
|Monday – Friday:||N/A|
|Address:||New York State Police|
1220 Washington Avenue, Building 22
|City:||Albany, NY 12226|
16 Eagle Street, Albany NY 12207
4884 State Route 19S Belmont, New York 14813
3030 Third Avenue, 2nd Floor, Bronx, NY 10455
Public Safety Facility 155 Lt. VanWinkle Drive Binghamton, NY 13905
301 Court Street, Little Valley, NY 14755
(716) 938-2229 (716) 938-2368 (716) 938-9191
Public Safety Building 7445 County House Road Auburn, NY 13021
3 North Erie Street P.O. Box 128 Mayville NY 14757
203 William St P.O. Box 558 Elmira, NY14902