Gun laws for New Mexico control how citizens use, sell, buy and transfer firearms in the state. New Mexico’s firearms laws are very permissive and include explosives and other weapons. New Mexico is a “Shall Issue” state for concealed carry. The state preempts local government from issuing laws regarding the use, sale, and purchase of weapons. In places where Native Americans live, tribal laws take over, unless traveling on a state-owned highway. Depending on the tribe some allow open carry, concealed carry and some are “No Issue” areas. Native American areas take up a considerable portion of the state. New Mexico allows open carry, but issues concealed permits for concealed carry, which is required if you are on foot. The law gets a bit confusing in its wording and meaning by stating "a loaded handgun that is not visible to the ordinary observations of a reasonable person." To obtain a permit, you must take a 15-hour training class which includes range time and classroom work. These laws took effect in 2003. Before that, New Mexico operated as a “No Issue/Unrestricted” state.
New Mexico’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Thirty-five states in the U.S. offer New Mexico reciprocity for their gun permits. These states are:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. New Mexico honors gun permits from only these twenty-four states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, West Virginia, and Wyoming. New Mexico only allows Idaho’s Enhanced Permit.
New Mexico is a “Shall Issue” state and provides them to resident only. However, if you are a non-resident, you can transfer your out-of-state permit to a New Mexico one. New Mexico allows open carry, but for concealed carry, you do need a permit. Once obtained you can carry in state parks, your own vehicle, rest areas, national parks and other areas of the state except for schools, colleges, law enforcement buildings, tribal land, courthouses, wildlife preserves, preschools, airports, and private property. The New Mexico Department of Safety issues permits. They are usually processed within 30 days. You do need to obey “no weapons” signs, but you do not have to notify officers that you are carrying. You can carry in state parks and restaurants that serve alcohol.
There is a long list of requirements when applying for a concealed permit. First, you must be 21 years or older and a U.S. citizen. You must be a resident of New Mexico and complete a firearms training course. If you are in the armed forces and your home base is New Mexico, you qualify. You cannot have any felonies, misdemeanors or any outstanding warrants for your arrest. You must not be mentally ill or ineligible by federal law. You will not be able to get a license if you are drug addicted or an alcoholic. You must not have any convictions on your record for violent offenses, or any drug charges for five years prior. If you have any convictions for domestic abuse, you will not qualify either. You must also comply with federal regulations. Permits cost $100 for new and $75 for renewals. Licenses are good for four years.
New Mexico is not a “point of contact” for NCIS. Therefore, they do not have their own system for performing a background check for the sale of guns. However, they are subject to federal law per the Brady Act and have to run a federal background check through NCIS. New Mexico law does not require any background checks for private sales.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|License to possess and carry machine guns and assault firearms||$100.00||$75.00||Up to $400|
|State parks||Public schools, colleges and universities, except in a vehicle if older than 19|
|State and national forests||Preschools|
|Road side rest areas||Law enforcement agency facilities|
|Vehicle||Courts, any State, County, Municipal or Tribal Court|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||State wild life management areas|
|Airport security zones|
|On private property where the owner has posted signs indicating that you may not carry or if the owner tells you that you cannot|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||7:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||NMDPS Concealed Handgun Carry Unit|
6301 Indian School Rd NE Ste. 310
|City:||Albuquerque, NM 87110|
|Phone:||(505) 841 -8053|
6301 Indian School Rd. NE, Suite 310, Albuquerque, NM 87110
(505) 841 -8053