New Jersey is a “May Issue” state and has some of the strictest gun laws in the country. It is very challenging to get a permit to carry and New Jersey actually operates more like a “No Issue” state. When applying, you must show an excellent reason for needing one. The New Jersey gun laws are routinely contested in court because they are so restrictive. New gun owners need to be at least twenty-one years old and take a firearms training course. The municipal police department where you live, grants permit. If the state police govern the town you live in, then you must apply with them instead. Gun permit applications generally take 60 days to approve or refuse. New Jersey does not guarantee its citizens the right to bear arms in their constitution. New Jersey has some very rigid rules regarding hollow-point ammunition as well. Before purchasing a long gun in New Jersey, you need to apply for a Firearm Purchaser Identification card. If you plan on buying a handgun, you need a different permit supplied by local police. Obtaining either is a complicated process, which includes fingerprinting, a lengthy application and full background check.
New Jersey’s policy is No Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Only twenty-four state honor a New Jersey concealed carry permit for residents, and they are
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia.
These states honor a New Jersey gun permit for non-residents:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, and Virginia.
New Jersey does not honor gun permits from any other states.
If you obtain a concealed carry permit, you can carry legally in state and national and state forests, your vehicle, rest areas and most other areas except a casino, state parks, schools and universities, and federal “off limits” areas. Your town police department supplies permits to residents and the state police supply them for non-residents. You do not need to inform officers if you are carrying. You can carry within your vehicle, and you don’t have to observe “no weapons” signs. Open carry is illegal with or without a permit. You may carry in restaurants that serve alcohol, but you cannot carry in state parks.
New Jersey is a “May Issue” state and to apply for a concealed carry permit; you must be twenty-one years old and be of “good character.” You must prove you can safely handle a firearm. You need to prove an excellent reason for needing to carry one. You also need to supply references from three people that you have known at least three years or more. Both permits and renewals cost $50 each. You must take an approved firearms training course before applying. You need to pass a mental health screening and bring four passport photos with you. Even with all these items, permits are very hard to obtain. Your license is only good for two years.
Per their restrictive pattern, New Jersey is a full “point of contact” state, and the New Jersey State Police (NJSP) handles all background check per the Brady Act. Along with a background check, buyers must also have a permit, or a Firearms Purchaser Identification Card (FPIC). Both of these are supplied through the state police system, after a long, detailed application process and full background check with fingerprinting. The law states that your approval or denial must be decided within 30 days. You also need an FPIC to buy ammunition. Along with the application part of the background check includes a mental health consent form to make sure you do not have any mental illness.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Permit to purchase a handgun||$2.00||$2.00 (renewable for an additional 90 days for good cause)||Up to $400|
|Firearms purchaser identification card (required to purchase, possess, and carry long guns)||$5.00||Indefinite||Up to $400|
|Permit to possess and carry handguns||$20.00||$20.00||Up to $400|
|Permit to possess and carry a handgun||$75.00||$75.00||Up to $400|
|State and national forests||Casino|
|Road side rest areas||State Parks|
|Vehicle||School, college, university or other educational institution|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||8:00 am - 4:00 pm|
|Address:||NJSP Firearms Investigation Unit|
P.O. Box 7068
|City:||West Trenton, New Jersey 08628|
|Phone:||(609) 882-2000 Extension 2290|
3515 Bargaintown Rd, Egg Harbor Township, NJ 08234
300 E Jimmie Leeds Rd, Galloway, NJ 08205
6101 13th St, Mays Landing, NJ 08330
225 State St, Hackensack, NJ 07601
221 Franklin Turnpike Mahwah, NJ 07430
23 Washington St, Mt Holly, NJ 08060
984 Tuckerton Road Marlton, NJ 08053
800 Federal St, Camden, NJ 08103