The gun laws for Montana govern the use, sale, possession, and transfer of firearms in the state. Montana is a “Shall Issue” state, and their gun laws are “Unrestricted.” Compared to most of the country, Montana has very permissible gun rules. The state issues concealed carry permits to residents only. The county sheriff’s office issues permits within 60 days of applying. Although you have a lot of freedom with carrying, you cannot take your gun into banks, government buildings or any place that serves alcohol. Montana is heavy into reciprocity with other states. In most areas, you can conceal carry even without a permit. You can carry within a vehicle but not on your person. Montana retains the right to enforce gun laws at the state level and counties may only regulate firing weapons and public carry in specific instances. There are numerous laws regarding suing a weapons manufacturer or dealer. Some guns are exempt from federal regulations.
Montana’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicles, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Reciprocity is offered between states so that gun permit owners can transport their weapons across state lines. These thirty-one states offer reciprocity to Montana residents
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. In turn,
Montana honors gun permits from these states
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, and New York City.
Montana is a very unrestricted state regarding gun laws, and they operate on a “Shall Issue” basis. Although open carry and concealed carry are legal, permits are required for specific circumstances and traveling out of state. You are allowed to carry in your vehicle as long as the gun is not on your body. You do not have to legally notify an officer if you are carrying. You do not need to obey any “no weapons” signs either. You can openly carry in most areas of the state. You can also carry in state parks and restaurants. You cannot, however, carry in places that serve alcohol. You cannot carry in schools or on school property or any government buildings. You cannot carry on trains or in any financial institutions like banks. You cannot carry on any state-owned property either. Montana law states that permit is required when "wholly or partially covered by the clothing or wearing apparel.”
To qualify for a concealed permit in Montana, you must be eighteen years old and have lived in Montana for at least six months. You must be a legal U.S. citizen and demonstrate your abilities to use a firearm. You must also have a valid, photo ID like a driver’s license when you apply. New permits cost $60, and renewals cost $35. You must also take an 8-hour firearms training course and bring the certificate with you. Active or retired members of the military or law enforcement are exempt from these rules and regulations. You cannot carry even with your permit if you are drinking alcohol.
Montana is not a “point of contact” state and does not require licensed dealers to run a state-level background check on someone when purchasing a gun. Dealers, however, must comply with federal regulations and contact the FBI to run a background check using the NCIS system before selling to any Montana resident. Montana residents who have a permit to carry concealed are exempt from this rule and don’t need to have an additional background check performed. Montana does not require private sales of firearms to use background checks either. When you undergo a background check, it will include fingerprinting as well.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Permit to carry concealed weapons||$50.00||$25.00||$5.00||N/A||County sheriff may charge applicant additional $5 fingerprinting fee|
|State parks||Any room where alcoholic beverages are sold, dispensed and consumed|
|State and national forests||Any building that used for instruction or student activities|
|Road side rest areas||Portions of a building used for state or local government offices|
|Vehicles||A bank, credit union, savings and loan institution, or similar institution|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||On trains|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||N/A|
|Address:||Office of the Attorney General|
Department of Justice
215 N Sanders St.
|City:||Helena, MT 59601|