As of January 2017 Missouri is now a constitutional carry state. Open carry is legal throughout the state, but they still issue permits on a “Shall Issue” basis for reciprocity. Missouri does not allow anyone who has a felony charge or deemed an incompetent person to own a firearm. Anyone who violates this law is subject to a Class D felony. Antique guns are the only exception to this rule. When you carry a concealed weapon, you must have your permit with you at all times, or you will be subject to a $35 fine. The county sheriff’s office issues permits to residents. Non-residents can apply but only if they are members of the military and veterans. Non-residents must be 18 to apply and their spouses 19 to apply. You must complete an 8-hour handgun-training course if you want a CCW though. Specially trained school employees are allowed to carry guns. This law was put into effect after the tragic mass shooting at Sandy Hook Elementary School in Newtown, Connecticut, in 2012. Some counties disallow open carry, but most of the state allows it. There are currently 160,184 concealed carry weapon permits in Missouri.
Missouri’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Thirty-six U.S. states honor a Missouri gun permit and they are
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Missouri honors fifty-three states and territory’s weapon permits and those states are, Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, the District of Columbia, Guam, New York City, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
These fourteen states do not allow a Missouri permit
California, Connecticut, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, Washington, and the District of Columbia. Wisconsin only honors permits that were issued after 08/23/13 and Virginia honors them for people who are 21 and older.
The county sheriff’s office issues permits for concealed carry. Missouri is a “Shall Issue” state. You are allowed to carry in your vehicle, with or without a permit. Missouri does not require you to notify an officer if you are carrying openly or concealed. Open carry is allowed anywhere that is not specified as “off limits.” You can enter places that have “no weapons” signs with your firearm, but if you are asked to leave then you must comply, or you will be legally breaking the law. You can legally carry in state parks and wildlife preserves along with national forests. Missouri is a constitutional carry state, and you can carry in restaurants, even those that serve alcohol.
When applying for a concealed carry permit in Missouri, you must be 19 years old and a U.S. citizen. You must also reside in Missouri and take an 8-hour training class. You cannot be a felon or a fugitive. You cannot have a DUI within the last five years, and you cannot be mentally ill. Missouri does not issue permits for military personnel who have been dishonorably discharged. You must also follow all federal regulations. As of January 2017, you can legally conceal carry without a permit in Missouri.
Missouri is not a “point of contact” state and does not use their own database and resources to run a background check for the purchase of firearms in the state. Licensed dealers, however, are required by federal law to contact the FBI and use NCIS to run a full background check on anyone before selling them a gun or rifle. Missouri allows private sales between residents without a background check.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|5 Years Permit | Permit to carry concealed firearms||Up to $100.00 (actual amount varies by county)||$50.00||$125.00|
|10 Years Permit (not honored in other states) | Permit to carry concealed firearms||$200.00||$50.00||$125.00|
|25 Years Permit (not honored in other states) | Permit to carry concealed firearms||$250.00||$50.00||$125.00|
|Lifetime Permit (not honored in other states) | Permit to carry concealed firearms||$500.00||$50.00||$125.00|
|State parks||Within twenty-five feet of any polling place on any election day|
|State and national forests||Law enforcement agency facilities|
|Road side rest areas||Any courthouse solely occupied by the circuit, appellate or supreme court, or any courtrooms, administrative offices, libraries or other rooms of any such court|
|Vehicle||Any meeting of the governing body, meeting of the general assembly or a committee of the general assembly|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Any adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison or jail|
|Any establishment licensed to dispense intoxicating liquor for consumption on the premises|
|Any higher education institution or elementary or secondary school facility|
|Any area of an airport to which access is controlled by the inspection of persons and property|
|Any portion of a building used as a child care facility|
|Any riverboat gambling operation accessible by the public|
|Any gated area of an amusement park|
|Any church or other place of religious worship|
|Any private property whose owner has posted the premises as being off-limits to concealed firearms|
|Any sports arena or stadium with a seating capacity of five thousand or more|
|Any hospital accessible by the public|
|Public passenger bus|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||7:30 am – 4:30 pm|
|Address:||St. Louis County Police Department|
7900 Forsyth Boulevard,
|City:||Clayton, MO 63105|
215 N Franklin St, Kirksville, MO 63501
400 E Main St, Savannah, MO 64485
511 W Clay St, Rock Port, MO 64482
1100 Littleby Rd, Mexico, MO 65265
505 East St, Cassville, MO 65625
1010 Cherry St, Lamar, MO 6475
6 W Fort Scott St, Butler, MO 64730
174 W Washington St, Warsaw, MO 65355