The gun laws in Minnesota were enacted to regulate the sale, possession, transfer, and use of firearms throughout the state. Minnesota is a “Shall Issue” state and issues permits to both residents and non-residents. The local county sheriff’s office handles permits. As of March 2017, Minnesota had about 265,728 licenses. Private sales of firearms in Minnesota are regulated with specific rules. Minnesota gun rules are pretty liberal. Non-residents can apply for a Minnesota CCW at any sheriff’s station. There is a long list of places you cannot carry your weapon including schools and universities, child care centers, school buses, private property, and government buildings. When licensed dealers sell to buyers at gun shows, they do have to perform a background check, and it is a gross misdemeanor if someone sells to an unauthorized person.
Minnesota’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
The twenty-six states that offer Minnesota reciprocity for gun permits for residents are,
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
The states that honor a non-resident gun permit are:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
Minnesota honors only fifteen states for reciprocity, and they are:
Alaska, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Dakota, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, and West Virginia.
Minnesota operates on a “Shall Issue” policy. They issue permits for resident and non-residents. The local police chief or sheriff’s office issue permits. It normally takes about 30 days for a permit. You do not need to inform an officer if you are carrying a concealed weapon. You also do not have to obey “no weapons” signs, they are not legally enforced in Minnesota. If you do not have a permit, you can only carry a weapon in your car if it is unloaded and in the trunk. You can open carry but only with a permit, not without one. You can carry in restaurants but must observe all “no guns” signs. You can carry your weapon in state parks and wildlife preserves. Landlords are not permitted to deny a tenant or their guest the right to have firearms on their property. If you are wrongfully denied an application, you will get your fee returned.
To apply for a concealed carry license, you must be twenty-one years old. You must be eligible under Minnesota law to carry a firearm. You cannot belong to any gangs. You must apply to the county sheriff’s office where you live. Non-residents can apply to any county sheriff’s office. You also must complete a firearms training class and pass. New permits cost $100 and last for five years. Renewals cost $75. To apply, you cannot be mentally ill. You may not carry in schools, child care centers, school buses, state hospitals, private property, jails or prison, courthouses, churches, state buildings, colleges or your place of employment if your company does not allow it. You must also comply with all federal regulations.
Minnesota is not a “point of contact” state and licensed dealers must contact the FBI and use NCIS to run a background check on anyone wishing to purchase a gun in Minnesota. In some cases when a buyer wants to buy a semiautomatic military-style weapon, the state police must perform an additional background check. The state background check does not eliminate the federal one. A background check is also performed when someone applies for a permit or wants to transfer ownership of a firearm. In some cases, dealers may not sell you a long gun unless you have a license to carry.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Permit to carry a handgun||Up to $100.00 (actual amount varies by county)||Up to $75.00||$99 - $115||An additional fee of $10.00 will be applied if a renewal is 30 days after the expiration date.|
|State parks||Public or private elementary, middle, or secondary school building and grounds|
|State and national forests||A child care center while children are present|
|Road side rest areas||School bus|
|Vehicle||Portion of a building under control of private or public school where signs are posted|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Public colleges and universities|
|Private establishments that have posted a sign banning guns on their premises|
|Places of employment, public or private, if employer restricts the carry or possession of firearms by is employees|
|State correctional facilities|
|State hospitals and grounds|
|Any jail, lockup or correctional facility|
|Churches and parking area if posted|
|Offices and courtrooms of the Minnesota Supreme Court and Court of Appeals|
|Any state building|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||8:00 am - 4:00 pm|
|Address:||Bureau of Criminal Apprehension|
1430 Maryland Ave. East
|City:||St. Paul, MN 55106|
217 2nd St NW, Rm 185 Aitkin, Minnesota 56431
Gun Permits Department 13301 Hanson Blvd NW Andover, MN 55304
925 Lake Ave Detroit Lakes, MN 56501
Law Enforcement Center 613 Minnesota Ave. NW Bemidji, MN 56601
581 Highway 23 Foley, MN 56329
20 South 2nd Street SE #102 Ortonville, MN 56278
401 Carver Road Mankato, MN 56001
15 South Washington Street New Ulm, MN 56073