Michigan’s state Constitution includes the clause "Every person has a right to keep and bear arms for the defense of himself and the state." Their gun laws govern the sale, use, possession, and transfer of firearms and ammunition in the state. Michigan has a plethora of gun laws. Michigan law includes Tasers in their definition of firearms. Anyone looking to purchase a gun from a private seller in Michigan must first be at least 18 years old and obtain a permit. Your permit only lasts for 30 days. You have to be twenty-one to purchase a firearm from a licensed dealer. Michigan is a “Shall Issue” state and local law enforcement is responsible for issuing permits. Residents can purchase handguns and long guns, but non-residents are only allowed to buy long guns. Michigan voters, people with a Michigan driver’s license or members of the military, are exempt from this rule. Currently, there is a total of 616,508 CCWs in Michigan. Michigan calls their CCWs, Concealed Pistol Licenses. Michigan allows open carry but with a few restrictions. You cannot open carry into any place that sells or serves alcohol. You must be 18 to open carry, and you cannot open carry in your vehicle unless you have a CPL.
Michigan’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
There are thirty-nine states that honor a Michigan gun permit for residents and they are:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
In turn, Michigan honors fifty state’s permits for:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, the District of Columbia, New York City, and Puerto Rico.
These eleven states will not honor a Michigan permit:
California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, and Rhode Island.
Michigan has a long list of requirements when applying for a concealed pistol license. The cost is $100, and it is good for five years. You cannot carry a loaded weapon in your vehicle unless you have a permit. Otherwise, it must be taken apart, unloaded and locked in a case in the trunk. You are required by law to notify an officer if you are carrying. You are allowed to carry in state parks and wildlife preserves. You do not have to worry about “no weapons” signs. They are not legally enforceable. You can open carry but only if you are 18, have a CPL and are a resident of the state. You cannot open carry into grocery stores or any other store that sells alcohol. Michigan does permit you to carry in restaurants, even those that serve alcohol.
To apply for a CPL, you must be twenty-one years old or older. You must have completed and passed a firearms training course. Only Michigan residents who have lived there at least six months are eligible. You must have a valid driver’s license. You have to be a U.S. citizen free of any felonies or violent charges. You must not have a mental illness or have restrictions regarding firearms. There is a long list of misdemeanors you cannot have on your record. You must also comply with all federal gun regulations. Michigan is a “Shall Issue” state.
Michigan is a partial “point of sale” state. Federally licensed dealers must use the FBI’s NCIS system to perform a background check on buyers. For private sales and CPL licenses, the Michigan Department of State Police runs their own background checks before issuing.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Concealed pistol license||$100.00 Total|
$74.00 Michigan State Police recieve
$26.00 County clerk receives
$36.00 County clerk recieves
$79.00 State Police receives
|$15.00||$80 - $125||Note:|
You will need to pay an additional $15 for fingerprints with new applications.
|State parks||Schools or school property|
|State and national forests||Any day care center, child caring agency, child placing agency|
|Road side rest areas||Courtroom, office, or other space used for official court business|
|Vehicle||Sports arena or stadium|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||A tavern where the primary source of income is the sale of alcoholic liquor by the glass consumed on the premises|
|Any church, synagogue, mosque or similar place of worship|
|An entertainment facility which has a capacity of 2,500 or more|
|A dormitory or classroom of a community college, college, or university|
|Michigan State University|
|University of Michigan|
|Wayne State University|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||9:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||Michigan State Police Headquarters|
7150 Harris Drive
|City:||Dimondale, MI 48821|
106 N 5th St, Harrisville, MI 48740
100 Court St, Munising, MI 49862, USA
113 Chestnut St, Allegan, MI 49010
720 W Chisholm St # 2, Alpena, MI 49707
203 E. Cayuga Street P O Box 520 Bellaire, MI 49615
120 N Grove Street P O Box 747 Standish, MI 48658
2 S. Main St. L’Anse, MI 49946
(906) 524-6100 ext. 698
Barry County Courthouse – Floor 1 220 W. State St. Hastings, MI 49058