Maryland is not a constitutional carry state and the laws that govern gun sale, usage, possession, and ammunition are enforced at the state level. Counties do however, have the right to override some gun laws. The counties of Annapolis, Anne Arundel County, Montgomery County, Gaithersburg, and Baltimore all have firearm laws about public assembly and minors. Citizens may only purchase firearms made after January of 1985 all guns must be registered with the state. People can only buy from this “registered firearms” list. Maryland is a “May Issue” state, and you must show a good reason for needing a permit before requesting one. Maryland does offer licenses to both residents and non-residents. Maryland does allow carry in hospitals and sports arenas, which are usually prohibited in other states. Buyers cannot purchase any assault weapons including some semi-automatic firearms.
Maryland’s policy is May Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: hospitals, places of worship, bars or restaurants where alcohol is served, sports arenas, gambling facilities, polling places, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
There are twenty-three states that honor a Maryland gun permit for residents and they are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin. The states that honor a Maryland gun permit for non-residents are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin. Maryland does not honor gun permits from any other states.
Maryland is a “May Issue” state, and only issues permits with good reason. The state police are the entity in charge of the application process, and they don’t issue very many. Maryland does not allow open carry with or without a permit. If you have a concealed carry permit, you may carry in hospitals, bars, churches, gambling casinos, sports events, rest areas, polling stations, and in your vehicle. You cannot, however, take your gun with you to the state park, national forest or public schools. It is also illegal to carry in Maryland if you have been drinking or are under the influence of drugs or at a demonstration. It takes 45 days for the permit to be issued once approved. You have no obligation to notify an officer if you are carrying. You cannot carry a gun in your vehicle legally unless you have a permit or it is unloaded and in a locked case in the trunk. You may carry in restaurants even those that serve alcohol.
The process for applying for a gun permit in Maryland is quite simple. First, you need to have 8 hours of firearms safety training. You will also need a copy of your passport and $67. You must fill out an application with the state police, and they require that you be at least 18 years old. You cannot have been in prison or have been convicted of a felony. You cannot be convicted of a narcotics offense, nor can you be an alcoholic. You must not have been admitted to a detention center or have any propensity towards violent behavior. You also have to prove a good reason as to why you need one. You must also comply with federal regulations. Your initial permit is good for only two years, and renewals are good for three years.
If you are buying a non-regulated firearm, which is most rifles and shotguns, you don’t need a state-level background check, but you will need the federal NCIS background check. The 7-day waiting period is also waived for non-regulated purchases. When purchasing regulated handguns, if you do not possess a Handgun Qualification License (HQL) you will need to have a state background check and then wait for 7-days before you can buy it. You must also undergo a federal background check through the NCIS system. Maryland’s Secretary of the Maryland State Police is a partial “point of sale.” If the state police deny you a permit, they must notify you within seven days.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Permit to carry firearms||$75.00||$50.00/ 3 years||Duplicate: $10||$5.00||$160.00|
|Places of worship||National Forests|
|Bars or restaurants where alcohol is served||Public schools|
|Sports arenas||Demonstration at a public place or in vehicle within 1000 feet of a demonstration|
|Gambling facilities||While under the influence of alcohol or drugs|
|Polling places||Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Road side rest areas|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden|
|Monday – Friday:||8:00 am - 4:30 pm|
|Address:||Maryland State Police|
1111 Reisterstown Road,
|City:||Pikesville, MD 21208|
1111 Reisterstown Road Pikesville, MD 21208 ATTN: Handgun Permit Unit