Maine’s gun laws regulate the use, sale, possession, and transfer of firearms and ammunition in the state. Maine is a “Shall Issue” state for concealed carry permits and the local or state police issue them. Maine is an open carry state, and as long as you are eighteen years old and legally qualified to own a gun, you can open carry in most places except schools, state parks, courthouses, and other government-controlled buildings. Semi-Automatic weapons are legal for hunters but only with limited ammunition. Maine enforces preemption of gun laws and does not allow counties or towns to override state-mandated firearm laws. If you have a permit, employers cannot prohibit you from having one in your vehicle on their property. Gun permits take about 30 days to get approved, and they cost $35 for a new license and $20 for a renewal.
Maine’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Twenty-five states honor a Maine resident gun permit for reciprocity, they are
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wyoming.
These states honor the Maine gun permit for non-residents
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wyoming.
Maine in turn honors permits for these twenty-seven states
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Idaho, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Utah, Virginia, and Wyoming.
Maine is a “Shall Issue” state and operates “Unrestricted” in terms of gun laws. As long as you are twenty-one or older, you can open carry in many areas of the state. However, the Maine state police offer permits for residents that want to carry their guns to other states. You can have a gun in your vehicle and carry in national forests. You cannot, however, take your guns into state parks, schools, government buildings, courthouses, wildlife preserves, and private property. You cannot carry in a bar or place that serves alcohol except some restaurants. If you do not have a CCW, you have to inform the officer that you are carrying. If however, you do have one, you are exempt from having to notify. You must honor “no weapons” signs when posted.
To qualify for a concealed carry permit in Maine, you must be at least eighteen years old. You must not be prohibited in any way by the state for carrying. You must be a Maine resident for at least five years. You must have “good moral character” and prove that you can safely handle a firearm. You cannot have any convictions regarding possession of a firearm or related to alcohol violations for five years before applying. You cannot have been in prison or be convicted of any domestic abuse of other violent charges. You cannot have any drug convictions either. You must also comply with all federal regulations. You cannot open or conceal carry in Arcadia National Park, courthouses, other state parks, schools, federal buildings, state buildings, anyplace that sells alcohol except restaurants, private property, and wildlife sanctuaries. Permits are good for four years then need to be renewed.
Maine is not a “point of sale” state, so they do not require a state background check when purchasing a firearm. Private sales are free and clear from having to perform one as well. When purchasing from a licensed dealer, however, you are subject to federal law and must have a background check conducted by the FBI and NCIS before buying. For semi-automatic sales, the magazine capacity cannot be more than six rounds. Purchase of these weapons is available only to licensed hunters.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Permit to carry concealed handguns||$35.00||$20.00||The cost is $2.00 for a duplicate permit, change of address or name change.||N/A|
|State and national forests||Courthouses|
|Road side rest areas||State Parks|
|Vehicle||Acadia National Park|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Schools|
|State Capitol area|
|Private property when prohibited by the property owner|
|Establishments licensed for on-premises consumption of liquor, if the premises are posted|
|Labor disputes and strikes|
|Baxter State Park|
|Allagash Wilderness Waterway|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||9:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||Augusta Department of Public Safety|
Maine State Police
45 Commerce Dr.,
|City:||Augusta, ME 04333|
Physical Address: 45 Commerce Dr., Augusta ME. 04333 Mailing Address: State House Station 164, Augusta, ME. 04333