Kansas gun laws are pretty permissive, but they are in place to regulate the sale, usage, possession, and transfer of firearms and ammunition for the state. Before 2006 Kansas did not allow any concealed carry. The Personal and Family Protection Act changed that, and now Kansas does issue concealed permits to residents. Prior open carry was allowed even though concealed carry was not. In 2014 the state took over all regulations regarding firearms and nullified local and county laws. Kansas gun laws are called “Unrestricted,” and they are a “Shall Issue” state. You have to be 18 years or older to purchase a firearm from a private sale in Kansas. If you are buying from a dealer, then you need to be 21 or older. You are legally able to use a firearm if you are younger than 18 and hunting, attending a firearm safety course, in a shooting competition, on your parent’s property, at home with a legal adult or traveling to a safety course or competition.
Kansas’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, public grounds and parking lots/garages, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
States offer reciprocity with one another for residents and non-residents to travel across state lines with firearms. States that honor Kansas concealed carry permits for residents are:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
States that honor Kansas gun permits for non-residents are:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
Kansas in-kind offers reciprocity to these states:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming, the District of Columbia, New York City, Guam, Puerto Rico, and the Virgin Islands.
The state Attorney General issues concealed carry licenses through the county sheriff’s office. It may take up to 90 days for processing when you apply. You have no legal obligation to notify an officer if you are carrying a weapon. You also do not have to worry about any “no weapons” signs. If you are 21, you can carry a loaded gun in your car concealed or open. If you are younger than twenty-one, then you must have it unloaded and secured in the trunk. Open carry is completely allowed throughout Kansas, and you can carry in restaurants or other establishments that sell alcohol. You may also carry in state parks. However, you may not carry in schools, government buildings, racetracks, courthouses, or if you are under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
To be eligible to get a concealed carry permit, you must be 21 years old. You have to complete an 8-hour training course and be a U.S. citizen. You must also be a resident of Kansas and the county where you are applying. You must read and agree to all the stipulations in the Kansas Personal and Family Protection Act. You must also comply with all federal regulations. Once you have your permit, you can carry almost anywhere except the list of “off limit” areas. Licenses cost $132.50 for new and $25 to renew.
Kansas is not a “point of sale” state and has no in-house process or any requirement for background checks. However, firearms dealers must comply with federal regulations and run an FBI approved background check using NCIS. Kansas residents with a CCW are exempt from having to undergo a background check when purchasing a gun in Kansas.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Permit to carry concealed handguns||$132.50|
You will need two checks;
$100 – payable to “Office of the Attorney General”
$32.50 – payable to “Sheriff of __________ County”
|$25.00||$75 - $125|
|State parks||K-12 Schools both Public and Private Buildings if posted “No Firearms”|
|State and national forests||Governors residence|
|Road side rest areas||Any public building with a posted sign saying “No Firearms”|
|Public grounds and parking lots/garages||Secure areas of any buildings for a correctional facility, jail facility or a law enforcement agency|
|Vehicle||State courthouses if posted|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||State racetracks if posted|
|Under the influence of alcohol or drugs|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||9:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||Kansas Attorney General|
Concealed Carry Licensing Unit
120 SW 10th Ave, 2nd Fl.
|City:||Topeka, KS 66612|
1 N. Washington Iola, KS 66749
135 E 5th Ave, Garnett, KS 66032
518 Parallel St. Atchison, KS 66002
124 E Washington Ave, Medicine Lodge, KS 67104
1416 Kansas Ave., Great Bend, KS 67530
204 S National Ave., Fort Scott, KS 66701
709 Utah Street Hiawatha, KS 66434
141 S. Gordy Street, El Dorado, Kansas 67042