Illinois gun laws were enacted to regulate the sale, possession, and use of firearms and ammunition in the state. When applying for a concealed carry application, you must take a 16-hour gun safety training class. To purchase a gun in Illinois, you must have a Firearm Owners Identification (FOID) card. Non-residents are exempt from this regulation. You must be at least twenty-one years old and be a state resident. The state police issues these cards, and when selling privately, you need to make sure the buyer has one. There is a 72-hour waiting period for buying a gun in Illinois. If your firearms are stolen, you must report it to the police immediately. Although the state governs gun law, some local counties have stricter rules that override those of the state. You are not eligible for a FOID card if you have any felonies, domestic violence abuse charges, or have been a patient in a mental health facility within the past five years. You must be a legal U.S. citizen to apply. Illinois is a “Shall Issue” state.
Illinois’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, vehicle , all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Although Illinois does not honor any other state’s CCW permits, they will issue concealed carry licenses to non-residents if they live in Arkansas, Mississippi, Texas, or Virginia. The reason is that these four states have very similar gun laws to Illinois. The following twenty-six states do honor an Illinois CCW for residents Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin. These states offer reciprocity with Illinois for non-resident permits Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
Illinois is a “Shall Issue” state, but open carry is not permitted, so you need a concealed carry license. You do not have to notify officers when you are carrying. However, you do need to legally observe all “no weapons” signs posted. You can carry a loaded, concealed weapon on your car only with a permit. If you do not have a license, then it is illegal unless the gun is unloaded, taken apart, or not easily accessible. For non-residents, there are specific stipulations that only with a CCW from their own state can you travel with a loaded weapon. However, you are not allowed to remove it from the car. Open carry is not permitted in Illinois, but you can carry in restaurants and other places that serve alcohol. You can carry in state parks but not in government buildings, schools, preschools or daycare centers, courts, prisons, hospitals, along with a whole list of other places.
To qualify for a concealed carry permit, first, you must be twenty-one years old. The state police have complete say and can refuse you a license if they think you are a danger to yourself or others. You must also have a FOID card and have completed a 16-hour gun safety-training course. You cannot have been convicted of any physical violence charges for at least five years. You cannot have more than two DUI charges on your record, and you must not be subject to a court ordered drug or alcohol abuse program. There cannot be any arrest warrants out on you as well. You must also comply with all federal regulations.
Illinois is a “point of contact” state, and firearm dealers must contact the Illinois Department of State Police (“DSP”) to perform a background check before selling to any residents. Along with their databases, the DSP will contact the FBI to search mental health records to ensure the safety of selling a firearm to a prospective buyer. There is a 24-hour waiting period for long guns and a 72-hour waiting period for a handgun. Anyone 18-20 must have parental consent to apply for the purchase of a firearm.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Firearm owners' identification card (required for purchase or possession of firearms)||$11 (Armed forces members and reservists are exempt from fee)||$11.00||$11.00 (Rplacement)|
$5.00 (Name/Address change)
|Criminal history record check fee|
|Concealed Carry Permit||$150.00 (For Residents) |
$300.00 (For Non-Residents)
|Fee not specified in statutes||$75.00 (Replacement/Name change)||$125 - $250|
|State parks||Public or private elementary or secondary school|
|State and national forests||Pre-school or child care facility|
|Vehicle||Any building or parking area under the control of an officer of legislative branch of government|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Circuit court, appellate court, or the Supreme Court|
|Any building or portion of a building under the control of a unit of local government|
|Adult or juvenile detention or correctional institution, prison, or jail|
|Public or private hospital or hospital affiliate, mental health facility, or nursing home|
|Public bus, train, or form of transportation paid for with public funds|
|Establishment that serves alcohol on its premises|
|Any public gathering or special event conducted on property open to the public|
|Any building or real property that has been issued a Special Event Retailer’s license|
|Public park, athletic area, or athletic facility|
|Property under the control of the Cook County Forest Preserve District|
|Any classroom, laboratory, medical clinic, hospital, artistic venue, athletic venue, entertainment venue, university-related organization property|
|Any stadium, arena|
|Zoo or museum|
|Any place used by a nuclear energy, storage, weapons, or development site|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||8:30 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||Illinois State Police|
801 South 7th Street
Suite 400 – M
|City:||Springfield, Illinois 62703|
Illinois State Police Concealed Carry 801 South 7th Street Suite 400 – M Springfield, Illinois 62703