Connecticut’s laws regarding the purchase of a firearm are quite strict and involved. First, you must take the official NRA gun training course and pass. You must then apply for a license twice, first with the local authorities for a temporary permit and then again with the state for a 5-year license. Connecticut is a “May Issue” state, but due to court decisions, it operates like a “Shall Issue” state. Once you have a permit, you are allowed to open carry and concealed carry throughout the state. Connecticut issues permits to both residents and non-residents. Connecticut is a “point of contact” state, and all federal background checks must be performed using NCIS through legitimate dealers. Purchase of machine guns and automatic weapons must be registered with the state. Private sales of firearms must also go through a licensed dealer and be registered. There is a two-week waiting period to purchase firearms in Connecticut.
Connecticut’s policy is May Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Connecticut does not offer reciprocity to any other states. However, the states below do honor Connecticut permits for residents Alabama
Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
The following states offer reciprocity to non-residents with Connecticut permits:
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin.
Before you can purchase a weapon, you must first obtain a carry permit in Connecticut. The process is more involved than in other states. Once you have your permit, you are allowed to open carry and concealed carry throughout the state except for schools, your place of business (unless you are the owner), any official government building, and any federally restricted areas. You can have a gun in your vehicle and at rest areas, but a permit is required whenever you take your gun outside of your home, even if on your own property. You must also have your license with you when taking your firearm from home to work. You can carry in restaurants and bars, but you must also honor any “no weapons” signs. You have no legal obligation to notify an officer if you are carrying. You may not take your weapon into any state-owned parks or recreational areas.
To get a permit in Connecticut, you must be at least twenty-one years old, and a resident of the state, although Connecticut does issue permits to non-residents as well. You have to agree to use the firearm lawfully, and you must be considered a “suitable person.” You also have to take the NRA approved handgun safety course. In addition, you cannot have any felonies or be convicted of third-degree assault, negligence, reckless endangerment, rioting or stalking and any drug offenses. You must be clean of any alcohol or drug issues and cannot have spent time in prison or a mental facility for at least 21 years. You must also be free of any protective orders against you. You will have to first apply for a temporary permit with local authorities and then once granted, you can apply with the state for your 5-year license.
Connecticut is a “point of contact” state, and all background checks to purchase a firearm are performed through their Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection (“DESPP”). The state may also access the NICS system. When selling a long gun or handgun, you must do it through a licensed dealer, and the buyer must fill out an official application. The application must be reviewed, and the buyer must pass a state background check before they can complete the purchase. They too must also wait for the two-week waiting period before they can pick it up.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Handgun eligibility certificate (required for purchase)||$35.00||$35.00||$62.00||Applicant also responsible for a fingerprint fee.|
|Permit to carry pistols or revolvers||$70.00 (For Residents)|
$135.00 (For Non-Residents)
|$70.00||$62.00||Up to $250||$70.00 for temporary local permit.|
Applicant must also pay for fingerprints, photos and background check.
|Road side rest areas||Public or private elementary or secondary school property|
|Vehicle||A permit to carry is required to carry a handgun outside one’s home (even though one may still be on his own property)|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Any place of business in which one is merely an employee, not an owner or operator|
|A permit is also required to transport a handgun back and forth between one’s home and place of business, or to and from a range for target shooting|
|Any building in which the chamber of either house of the General Assembly is located or in which the official office of any member|
|officer or employee of the General Assembly or the office of any committee of the General Assembly or either house thereof is located or any building in which a committee of the General Assembly is holding a public hearing|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||8:30 am - 4:15 pm|
|Address:||Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection|
Special Licensing and Firearms Unit
1111 Country Club Road
|City:||Middletown, Connecticut 06457|
|Phone:||(860) 685-8290 |
100 Reef Road Fairfield, CT 06824
Public Safety Complex 253 High Street Hartford CT, 06103
(860) 757- 4243 or (860) 757-4000
576 Main St, Torrington, CT 06790
222 Main St, Middletown, CT 06457
1 Union Ave, New Haven, CT 06519
70 Thames St, Norwich, CT 06360
725 Hartford Turnpike, Vernon, CT 06066
22 Meadow St, Willimantic, CT 06226