Colorado’s gun laws pertain to the use, sale, ownership, purchase, and transportation of firearms in the state. Colorado is fairly liberal with their gun laws, and you can open carry and concealed carry without any license. Colorado is a “Shall Issue” state and will provide a carry license for residents only if they are traveling outside the state for reciprocity reasons. For out-of-state residents, they must prove they spend a lot of time in Colorado or own property there to obtain a carry license. Colorado does not permit guns in schools, courthouses, and public buildings, secure parts of an airport, and federally restricted areas. You cannot drive a snowmobile while armed in Colorado. You are allowed to carry in restaurants, state parks, and rest areas and you are allowed to have one in your vehicle. Private sales of guns must conducted through a licensed dealer so that a federal background check can be performed. In the state of Colorado, you must be 18 to purchase a rifle or other long gun and 21 to buy handguns. There are a lot of strict laws regarding transfer and ownership of firearms in the state, which you must also review and comply with.
Colorado’s policy is Shall Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, school, if firearm is left in a locked vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Colorado only offers reciprocity with states that honor their licenses. Thirty-four U.S. states allow a Colorado gun permit and they are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. Accordingly, Colorado honors permits from these states: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin, and Wyoming. States that unconditionally do not accept a Colorado gun permit are California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Nevada, New Jersey, New York, Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Washington.
Colorado is a “Shall Issue” state for concealed carry and residents may apply for a permit at any local county sheriff’s office. The permit is good for five years and costs $52 when applying. You are not obligated by law to notify an officer if you are carrying. You are allowed to carry in state parks and wildlife preserves. You do not have to comply with any “no weapons” signs legally. You can carry in your vehicle, restaurants, and bars legally. Colorado is not a “Constitutional carry” state. Although Colorado is an open carry state, local counties may override these laws.
When applying for a concealed carry permit, you must be 21 years old. You must also demonstrate that you can safely use and operate a handgun. You must be a legal resident of Colorado. You may not have any alcohol or drug addictions, and you cannot be convicted of perjury. You cannot apply for a permit if there is an open restraining or other protective order out on you. According to federal law, you must also not be a convicted felon or mentally ill.
As of 2013, the state of Colorado requires a state background check when purchasing a firearm. Colorado also requires any private sale of a gun to go through a licensed dealership and the buyer must pass the background check. The dealer is responsible for recording the transaction and submitting it to the state CBI. The transfer law does not apply when you are just loaning a weapon to a member of your immediate family or when having a firearm repaired. Dealers may charge a $10 fee for each background check they perform. There is a list of strict requirements that apply to the sale and possession of firearms, and if you violate them, you will have a Class 1 misdemeanor. For example, if you provide a weapon to anyone who is under the age of 18, you will be held criminally liable.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Individual Concealed Handgun Permit||TOTAL: $52.50 (Including InstaCheck ($13.00), CCIB Fingerprint Check and FBI Fingerprint Check)||If Fingerprints Previously Sent to CBI - TOTAL $13.00|
If Fingerprints NOT Previously Sent to CBI - TOTAL $52.50 (Including InstaCheck $13.00, CCIC Fingerprint Check and FBI Fingerprint Check)
|CCIC Fingerprint check: $17.50|
FBI Fingerprint check: $22.00
|The local sheriff can charge up to an additional $100|
|Temporary Emergency Permits||TOTAL: $30.50 (Including InstaCheck $13.00 )||If Fingerprints Previously Sent to CBI - TOTAL $13.00|
If Fingerprints NOT Previously Sent to CBI - TOTAL $30.50
|CCIC Fingerprint check: $17.50|
|State parks||Public elementary, middle, junior high, or high school|
|State and national forests||Secure areas of airports|
|Road side rest areas||Public buildings with fixed security checkpoints such as courthouses|
|Vehicle||Snowmobile (permit for predator control required)|
|School||Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|If firearm is left in a locked vehicle|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden|
|Monday – Friday:||N/A|
|Address:||Colorado Bureau of Investigation|
Firearms InstaCheck Unit
690 Kipling St., Ste. 3000
|City:||Lakewood, CO 80215|
|Phone:||(303) 813-5700 - select option 4|
332 N 19th Ave, Brighton, CO 80601
1315 17th Street Alamosa, Colorado 81101
13101 E. Broncos Parkway Centennial, CO 80112
449 San Juan Street P.O. Box 638 Pagosa Springs, CO 81147
265 E. 2nd Ave Springfield, CO 81073
11100 County Road GG.5 Las Animas, CO 81054
5600 Flatiron Parkway Boulder, CO 80301
11600 Ridge Pkwy. Broomfield, CO 80021