California has some of the strictest gun laws in the country. In addition to the standard background check anyone wanting to purchase a firearm in California must also pass a test and obtain a 5-year Firearm Safety Certificate before they can buy, loan, transfer or sell a gun. You must also pay a $25 fee when applying. Only certified handgun dealers can sell guns, and the products they offer must be contained on the Roster of Handguns Certified for Sale. You cannot sell a handgun privately; all sales must be registered and recorded through the state via a licensed dealer. California does not honor the 2nd Amendment that guarantees citizens rights to bear arms. The waiting period in California to purchase a handgun is ten days. California does not allow the sale or purchase of semi-automatic weapons, and you can only buy automatic weapons with a special permit for specific purposes.
California’s policy is May Issue in practice and its license is issued to residents. You can carry a handgun in: state parks, state and national forests, road side rest areas, vehicle, all areas of the state not listed as forbidden.
Gun laws across America vary from state to state, and some states allow reciprocity, meaning you can carry your gun across state lines. Other states disallow reciprocity. The states that offer reciprocity with California are Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, and Wisconsin. California does not honor CCW permits from any other states.
The California concealed carry laws are quite involved. First, you do have to have a permit, and you cannot obtain one unless you are of good moral character, have a valid safety reason for needing one, have had firearms training and meet other requirements. Granting a permit is up to local law enforcement so even if you do qualify, you may still be denied for some other reason. To obtain a license, you must visit your local county sheriff’s office. In some areas of California, you have to notify an officer that you are carrying if they ask. In other areas, you do not have to disclose. Regarding following no weapon signs, unless it is a federally mandated “no gun” zone, like schools, federal buildings or the post office, then you can generally carry wherever you like. With state parks, only concealed carry is allowed with a permit. California does not honor CCWs from other states. If carrying in your vehicle, the gun must be in the trunk in a locked box. The state allows carrying in restaurants and bars as well.
To qualify for a concealed carry weapon permit in the state of California, you must meet all the requirements. First, you must be of good and moral character. You must also have a good cause for needing to carry a loaded weapon. You must also reside in the county you obtain the permit from or spend the majority of your time there. You could have your business or a second home there to qualify. Finally, you must complete a thorough firearms training course to obtain your permit. You must prove all of these items to the county sheriff’s office or police chief. They have complete authority to grant or deny your application.
Before you can purchase a firearm in the state of California, you must undergo a thorough background check. Using your license or photo ID, gun dealerships run your information through the FBI’s NICS database along with 20 other sources including mental health facilities and the DMV. The NICS reports about 250k background checks per month in California and almost 2 million per year. Dozens of protective buyers are denied each day due to the results that come back from their background check.
|Permit type||Fees when getting a new permit||Renewal||Current license amendment||Fingerprint scan fee||Fee for firearm classes||Additional state fees|
|Handgun safety certificate (required before purchase)||$25.00||$25.00||$150 to $250||There are also fees for fingerprint scans and firearm classes that can work out to $300 for a 2 year permit. The Licensing authority is allowed to charge an additional fee equal to the actual cost ($100) but it must not exceed $100.|
|License to carry concealed weapons (handguns)||$70-$100 (varies by county)|
The cost varies between counties. The legal limit is $100.
|$44 (varies by county)||$150 to $250||There are also fees for fingerprint scans and firearm classes that can work out to $300 for a 2 year permit. The Licensing authority is allowed to charge an additional fee equal to the actual cost ($100) but it must not exceed $100.|
|State parks||School grounds|
|State and national forests||colleges and universities|
|Road side rest areas||Child care facility|
|Vehicle||Courthouse or Court room|
|All areas of the state not listed as Forbidden||Public buildings or meetings|
|Social rehabilitation facility|
|Gun show or event if you have ammunition that fits firearm|
|any legislative office|
|State wildlife management areas|
|Demonstrations related to refusal to work|
|While masked to conceal your identity|
|Any place that serves alcohol for consumption|
|Cal Expo center in Sacramento|
|You may not carry a firearm if you are consuming alcohol|
|You may not display a concealed firearm|
|You cannot carry a concealed weapon not listed on the permit|
|You cannot carry a concealed weapon at times or circumstances other than those specified in the permit|
|Any place where the carrying of firearms is prohibited by Federal Law|
|Monday – Friday:||9:00 am - 5:00 pm|
|Address:||California Bureau of Firearms4949 Broadway|
|City:||Sacramento, CA 95820|
4949 Broadway, Sacramento, CA 95820
1401 Lakeside Drive, 12th Floor Oakland, CA 94612
88 Bear Valley Road P.O. Box 5103 Bear Valley, CA 95223
99 Water Street P.O. Box 278 Markleeville, CA 96120
700 Court Street Jackson, CA 95642
5 Gillick Way Oroville, CA 95965
1045 Jeff Tuttle Drive San Andreas, CA 95249
929 Bridge Street Colusa, CA 95932