Criminal Records Search
Driving While License Suspended (DWLS) criminal records are always related to a driver’s license that has been suspended for reasons including having too many penalty points, a DUI conviction, drug crimes, unpaid traffic ticket(s) or child support and any type of “forbidden” driving that violates the terms of a restricted license.
The difference between license “Suspension” and license “Revocation” is that a revoked license can’t be restored until the offender has a Hearing before a Secretary of State’s Driver Assessment and Appeal Division (DAAD) and receives approval for Restoration of Driving Privileges.
Two scenarios can happen in case of having a Suspended License:
Depending on the reason for the suspension, the circumstances and the number of past convictions, a DWLS can be classified as a:
In 19 states, dangerous drivers with a long list of traffic offenses may be deemed “Habitual Traffic Offenders” (HTO). The legislation varies. For instance in Florida, a Habitual Traffic Offender is anyone who has accumulated at least 3 convictions of the following offenses within 5 years:
In other states like Colorado, you’re an HTO if you accumulate three HTO “strikes” within 7 years. Also, if someone is arrested for Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI) or driving under the influence (DUI) while being an HTO, they could be charged with a class 6 felony and prison time.
Generally speaking, whena person is labeled a Habitual Traffic Offender, the DMV suspends their driving privilege for 5 years. If they’re caught driving within this 5-year time frame, they might face a $5,000 fine and be sentenced a maximum of 5 years in prison and/or 5 years probation.
The Driving While License Suspended Impound Law authorizes law enforcement officers to tow vehicles whenever they stop a suspended driver. Depending on the state, the vehicle faces a police hold for 30, 60, or 90 days. The driver might also have to pay a deposit of 50% of the towing and storage fees within 5 days of the impoundment date. Failing to do so means the car could be auctioned before the hold period ends. Some states require an additional court release and a fee to be paid before picking up the car.