Skip to content

Wyoming Court Records Search

Start Your Free Search
The following is for informational purposes only

Wyoming District Courts

Wyoming’s District Courts are the general jurisdiction trial courts for the state. They handle both civil and criminal matters. The state is split into nine judicial districts. There is one District Court in each of the 23 counties of Wyoming.

The types of cases handled in District Courts include large civil actions, felony criminal cases, probate, and estate issues, juvenile cases, and appeals from the lower courts. They can also resolve tort cases, real property cases of more than $50,000, mental health cases, and domestic relations type cases.

Wyoming has 23 District Court judges, and they are appointed by the Governor after being selected from a list of three nominees by the Judicial Nominating Commission. They serve six-year terms. District Court judges must be at least 28 years old and a practicing attorney, along with being a U.S. resident and resident of Wyoming for at least two years. They must retire at age 70. Each District Court judge is allowed to hire a court reporter. This person’s job is very important as they transcribe all court proceedings in case of an appeal. Court reporters may also assist the judge in other ways.

The Court Clerks assists District Courts in many ways as well. They are the custodians of the court records; they maintain case files, keep the docket, receive court fees, and manage juries. These are elected court officials.

The Wyoming Judicial Branch website has a listing of all District Courts, with the county and clerk of the court. Each link provides full information on the presiding judge, courthouse location, phone, fax and email, mailing address, directions, and other pertinent information. The site also has rules of District Court, information on jury duty, bench books and other helpful resources for patrons or the general public.

For the last year tallied, District Courts saw 17,080 new cases.

Courts in Wyoming

Laramie County District Court

Albany County Wyoming

Carbon County Wyoming

Uinta County Courthouse

Sweetwater County District Court

Lincoln County District Court

Johnson County District Court

Sheridan County District Court

Washakie County District Court

Park County District Court

Wyoming Court Records Search
Start Your Free Search