Utah Arrest Records Search

Start your FREE search
The following is for informational purposes only

How to Look Up Arrest Records in Utah

By law, the state is required to provide the general public access to Utah arrest records and criminal records. The state keeps a central repository of criminal information updated daily. Anyone can make a request through the mail or in person, and they will need to pay a $15 fee for a state-level criminal report and $18 for a federal one. When requesting either a state-level, or national report the requestor must have fingerprints. Depending on how they obtain them there may be a waiting period. They may also need a consent form as well.

Are Arrest Records Public Records in Utah?

Yes. The state allows public access to criminal and arrests records on a per-request basis. They keep a master database with all records garnered from law enforcement agencies throughout the state. Private citizens have the legal right to request copies of anyone’s arrest records or criminal history report. They must pay a fee however and provide fingerprints. In some cases, they will also need to get the person’s consent.

Victims & Offenders by Gender and Race

Offenders by Gender

Victims by Gender

Offenders by Race

White70%
Black or African American13%
Unknown11%
Asian4%
American Indian or Alaska Native2%
Native Hawaiian0%
Offenders w/ reported race3,562

Victims by Race

White77%
Black or African American5%
Unknown13%
Asian3%
American Indian or Alaska Native2%
Native Hawaiian0%
Victims w/ reported race3,765

What Information You Can Find in a state Criminal Report?

What Information You Can Find in Utah Arrest Report?

A Utah arrest report will contain some basic details like the name of the person, the date of the arrest, the charges they were accused of, fingerprints and booking numbers. Also included will be Utah mugshots taken at the time of arrest, other details about the crime along with the arresting officer’s name and badge number and arresting agency. The report will also contain general information like date of birth, address, phone, height, weight, gender, race and physical description. It may also include bail, bond, pleas or any other fines paid.

Utah State Police Reports and Mugshots

Are Police Reports Public Record in Utah?

Yes. According to the Utah Government Records Access and Management Act (GRAMA), the general public does have the right to police reports. Big cities like Salt Lake, have special websites or designated pages on their website to handle public records requests.

They charge a $10 fee for any reports up to 50 pages. After that, the cost is.25 per page. They take checks or money orders for copies. Additionally, you can use their online system to request copies and pay with a credit card.

Some of the information contained within a police report covers:

  • The date and time of the event.
  • Name and age of the person(s) involved.
  • Details of the incident/crime.
  • Outstanding warrants for the person’s arrest.
  • The police officer involved.
  • Court details of his or her arraignment.
  • Charges brought against them.
  • Any vehicle information for those involved.
  • Bond/bail amount.

Utah Mugshots

Utah mugshots are also public records, and they are found easily online. They are standardized by the person wearing street clothes photographed against a gray brick wall. They may also be found online in police blotters, county Sheriff’s arrest reports, media outlets, news websites, and public records repository websites.

Alphonse Bertillon invented mugshots in the late 1800s. He was a French policeman and toyed with poses and lighting until he got it just correct. He chose a side shot combined with a full-face shot for his template. He made police photos (mugshots) a part of his regular booking procedure. Soon after, many other countries did the same, and now they are used throughout the world to capture the likeness of suspects, criminals, and inmates. Originally, they were used on wanted posters around town. Now they are used by investigators, witnesses, and victims.

Utah Arrest Booking Process

Once a Sheriff or policeman arrests someone in Utah, they are brought to the nearest detention center or local county jail for booking. The Processing Division handles this phase of things. Although each town is different many of the same things will happen.

  • You may be brought to a holding cell or room, and you may remain handcuffed until they get to you. This may take 30 minutes to one hour.
  • An officer may ask simple questions about your name, address, date of birth, etc.
  • After you are entered into the system. You will be searched, and your belongings taken and stored.
  • Your fingerprints will be taken and your mugshot.
  • You may then be moved to a room or cell with a toilet, bench, and phone to wait.
  • Bail may or may not be set.
  • You may be charged with a crime.

Most suspects will await their hearing before being released.

Violent Crime Rates for the last 10 years

The crime rate has increased over the past decade in Utah, going from 4,269 crimes in 2006 to 5,624 by 1% higher than it was back in 2006. The largest percentage of violent crimes falls into the Aggravated Assault category, with Revised Rape being the least popular crime in the state.

Utah Violent Crime Rate Change

Arrest Laws

Utah Arrest Laws

UT peace officers can legally arrest someone with a warrant. They can also arrest someone when a public offense is committed in their presence. They may also arrest someone when a felony has been committed, and they have reasonable cause to believe that the suspect committed it. When a peace officer believes that someone committed an offense and they are concerned that they may flee the jurisdiction, destroy evidence or be a danger to themselves or other people. The state also allows peace officers to arrest someone for driving drunk, stealing goods or committing library theft.

Who has a Power of Arrest in UT?

Any UT peace officer can legally arrest someone in the state. Peace officer as defined by the state include “any sheriff or deputy sheriff, chief of police, police officer, or marshal of any county, city, or town; any police officer employed by any college or university; investigators for the Motor Vehicle Enforcement Division; investigators for the Department of Insurance, Fraud Division; special agents or investigators employed by the attorney general, district attorneys, and county attorneys; and employees of the Department of Natural Resources designated as peace officers by law.”

How Long Will an Arrest Report Stay on your Utah State Records?

Many arrest and criminal records will stay on a criminal record forever. Capital and serious offenses cannot be removed. However, lesser crimes can be expunged and sealed from public view. After the offender completes his or her sentencing, they must still wait 10, 7, 5, 4, or 3 years before they can apply for expungement. The state’s expungement law can be complicated, and if they have too many infractions on their record, they may have trouble getting any of them expunged also.

Can you Expunge your Records?

Yes. UT does allow expungement/sealing of arrests and criminal records however the laws are complicated, and offenders must comply with a long list of requirements first. There are different waiting periods after someone completes his or her sentencing before they can apply for the sealing of their records.

The Arrest Rate in Utah

Arrest Rate in Utah

For the year 2017, 116,796 arrests were recorded. This figure represents a 3.9% increase from the previous year. Of that total, 37,084 were Group B offenses, and of those, 26,298 were committed by men, the rest women.

State Offender and Victim Age Group Statistics

Most of the violent crime offenders in Utah were 20-29 and the largest percentage of violent crime victims were 20-29.

Offender Age

0-90.3%
10-1919.8%
20-2926.6%
30-3923.9%
40-4911.4%
50-597.0%
60-692.0%
70-790.4%
80-890.1%
90-990.1%
Unknown8.5%
Offenders w/ reported age6,054

Victim Age

0-93.9%
10-1921.5%
20-2928.2%
30-3921.3%
40-4912.9%
50-598.1%
60-693.0%
70-790.8%
80-890.2%
90-990.1%
Victims w/ reported age6,536

Crime Victim Demographics

Residence Home is the place where the majority of crimes in Utah were committed, in most of the crime cases the offender was a relationship unknown.

Location Type

Residence Home3,167
Highway/Alley/Street/Sidewalk1,208
Parking Garage/Lot426
Unknown255
Convenience Store250
Hotel/Motel233
Park/Playground156
Department/Discount Store146
Bank143
Restaurant132

Victim’s Relationship to the Offender

Relationship Unknown1,671
Stranger1,517
Acquaintance1,301
Boyfriend/Girlfriend657
Otherwise Known443
Spouse262
Friend239
Sibling176
Child167
Offender158

Utah Arrest Records by Type of Crime

The popular arrests for 2017 in Utah was for All Other Offenses (except traffic) - 39,865, the same popularity of the arrest type was seen in Alabama, Alaska, and Arizona. The least popularity had Embezzlement arrests - with only 36 crimes a year.

Arrest TypeUnder 18All agesTotal arrests
Violent Crime3042,2522,556
Property Crime2,39014,52616,916
Murder & Non-negligent Manslaughter14849
Rape64204268
Robbery68404472

Utah Department of Public Safety

Is your State Safer than Utah?

Select your state and find out:

Utah
Crime rate - 3,201
The crime rate in the last 5 years - up by 1%

5 Safest Counties in the Area

A list of 5 counties in Utah that have the lowest arrest rate in 2017

CountyCrime Rate
Davis County71.58
Utah County81.88
Washington County84.87
Cache County199.59
Kane County218.16
Utah Arrest Records Search