The state's local and state law enforcement handles background checks, criminal records and arrest reports for individuals wanting a copy of their own or to supply to a third-party. The state uses its own Applicant Fingerprint Processing (NMAPS) system. The cost to have someone’s fingerprints taken is $9 for two cards and $2.50 for each card after. There is a release form that must also be filled out. The cost per record is $15. They also offer “Police Certificates of Good Standing” for another $33. They issue reports usually between 7-15 days.
The general public can get arrest records through the NM court system where they can search for court documents using someone’s name. State law enforcement offers copies only to the subject themselves. There are specific fees involved including getting fingerprinted and then a per record charge as well.
New Mexico arrest records will show details about the arrest such as where it occurred, the date of arrest, what agency arrested them, the charges filed, the arresting officer’s information, if any vehicles were involved and the booking details. Additionally, there is personal information like a general profile for the person arrested with name, age, address, gender, height, weight, and more. Typically, they also contain New Mexico mugshot and any other warrant and booking details including fingerprints as well as other police and criminal records associated with this person. At the same time, court records and court warrant searches related to any arrests, fines, convictions, and sentencing will also be on there when doing a court case lookup.
According to New Mexico’s Inspection of Public Records Act (IPRA), police reports are public records in New Mexico. Unlike other states, all requests for copies of video and audio recordings, and documented police reports are handled by the City Clerk’s Office. The city of Albuquerque has a well laid out section on its website with a video, instructing patrons on how to make a request to obtain a police report and other information. They also have a special section for the media to request copies of mugshots and other details about local crimes.
Some of the information you will see on a police report from New Mexico is:
New Mexico also has a portal where citizens can request copies of crash reports online and through the mail.
New Mexico mugshots are police photos of suspects and criminals. They are shot on a gray or brown background with a gray cloth covering the person’s street clothes to make each one look consistent. You can find mugshots for New Mexico arrests on news outlet websites like KGUN 9 out of Tucson and other media companies. Public records databases may also carry copies of New Mexico mugshots.
Mugshots were first used in the 1800s after photography was invented, and a French policeman named Alphonse Bertillon made it a standard practice during the booking procedure. He devised a system of taking a front shot and a side shot and combining them as one mugshot. Just about every country now uses mugshots on wanted posters, in the news and with witnesses and victims to identify criminals.
New Mexico law enforcement is subject to strict rules regarding arrests. They must have probable cause and perform an investigation or witness a crime before arresting someone. Upon arrest, the person will be handcuffed and taken to the closest detention center. Once there, they will be booked. The booking procedure consists of:
They will remain in jail until they can pay the bail/bond or see a judge for their initial hearing.
The crime rate has increased over the past decade in New Mexico, going from 8,187 crimes in 2006 to 11,834 by 19% higher than it was back in 2006. The largest percentage of violent crimes falls into the Aggravated Assault category, with Revised Rape being the least popular crime in the state.
A law officer can arrest someone with a valid, signed arrest warrant from a judge. An officer can also arrest someone when they have probable cause to believe a crime was committed. If they are in the presence of someone committing a crime, they also have the right to arrest them at that time. A New Mexico law officer can also stop someone if they are aware of a felony that has been committed and that person was named the suspect by a credible source. If a misdemeanor is committed in his or her presence, they can arrest someone then too.
Any law enforcement officer has the right to arrest. This list includes local police, state police, sheriffs and deputy sheriffs. Any private citizen can also arrest you if they witness someone committing a crime or they are aware that someone committed one. They can use force to detain them until they hand them over to the police.
Arrests will stay on a person’s criminal record forever if they do not apply to have them removed. Only petty misdemeanors are eligible for expungement. Only if there is no disposition for those offenses, are they eligible. First-time drug offenses are also eligible and juvenile crimes.
Only petty misdemeanors and arrests that did not result in charges or a guilty verdict are eligible to be expunged. If there was a disposition on those misdemeanors, even one that dismissed all charges, the person could not expunge those records. Any conviction of an offense of “moral turpitude” cannot be expunged either.
In NM for the year 2016, there were 158,484 arrests. The majority of them (68,981) were for property crimes. The second highest number (45,780) were for larceny, 10,261 were for violent crimes, 10,078 were for motor vehicle thefts, 6,874 were for aggravated assault, 13,123 were for burglary, 781 were for rape, and 2,501 were for robbery.
Most of the violent crime offenders in New Mexico were 20-29 .
|Offenders w/ reported age||13,181|
The popular arrests for 2017 in New Mexico was for All Other Offenses (except traffic) - 15,618, the same popularity of the arrest type was seen in Alabama, Alaska, and Arizona. The least popularity had Arson arrests - with only 12 crimes a year.
|Arrest Type||Under 18||All ages||Total arrests|