InfoTracer.com is not a "consumer reporting agency" and does not supply "consumer reports" as those terms are defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act ("FCRA"). By clicking "I Agree" you consent to our Terms of Service and acknowledge and agree not to use any information gathered through InfoTracer.com for any purpose under the FCRA, including, but not limited to, evaluating eligibility for personal credit, insurance, employment, or tenancy.
InfoTracer.com is not a consumer reporting agency as defined by the Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA), and does not assemble or evaluate information for the purpose of supplying consumer reports.
You understand that license plate and VIN searches are only available for a purpose authorized by the Driver's Privacy Protection Act of 1994 (DPPA). The information obtained from our searches is not to be used for any unlawful purposes.
This website contains information collected from public and private resources. InfoTracer.com cannot confirm that information provided below is accurate or complete. Please use information provided by InfoTracer.com responsibly.
You understand that by clicking "I Agree," Infotracer.com will conduct only a preliminary people search of the information you provide and that a search of any records will only be conducted and made available after you register for an account or purchase a report.
NJ state law enforcement provides criminal record information (CHRI) to businesses, government agencies and also the general public. They offer different ways to obtain New Jersey arrest records for specific purposes. They allow someone to get a copy of their own via fingerprints. They have forms on their website that individuals can download to request a copy of someone else’s criminal history along with arrest records. Except when requesting a copy of their own, a person can ask for a name-based state records request.
Yes, NJ state law enforcement handles all requests and provides records to the general public. There are different fees based on fingerprint service versus name-based searches, and users will have to pay between $20 and $55 per record. If they need to have fingerprints taken, that will be an extra charge.
A New Jersey arrest record will show the person’s name, date of birth, age, race, gender, height, weight, physical description, address, phone number and next of kin. It will also show the booking details, the name of the arresting officer, the location where the arrest took place, the date of the arrest, and vehicle details if one was involved. Typically the report will also contain mugshots, fingerprints, the arresting agencies details and other information about the crime.
Yes, New Jersey police reports are public records. Anyone has the option of contacting the State of New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety to request copies. The State Police portion on their website has a news section that spills the details of many incidents that occur in the state. Some of the details provided are:
For actual copies of real police reports, you can contact the state police directly.
New Jersey State Police also have a portal where the public can grab copies of crash reports.
The term mugshot comes from the old west slang “mug” for the face. Mugshots were first used on wanted posters. The use of mugshots in police work started in the 1800s after photography was invented. A French policeman named Alphonse Bertillon made it standard practice in his precinct, and shortly, therefore, the rest of the world followed suit. Typically, two shots are taken, one from the front and another from the side. They are used by investigators, witnesses, and victims.
New Jersey mugshots are fairly easy to come by online. You can find them on government websites, inmate locator databases, news and media outlets, and public records repositories. There is no typical style for New Jersey mugshots. Most suspects are photographed in their street clothes on a gray or other plain background.
New Jersey police must have probable cause or witness a crime being committed before they can arrest someone. Generally, anyone arrested in New Jersey will be put in handcuffs and taken to the local jail for processing. During the booking process (which can take a few hours) the following may occur:
Many suspects will remain in jail until their trial.
The crime rate has decreased over the past decade in New Jersey, going from 29,933 crimes in 2006 to 19,981 by 23% lower than it was back in 2006. The largest percentage of violent crimes falls into the Aggravated Assault category, with Revised Rape being the least popular crime in the state.
An NJ police officer may arrest someone with a valid, signed arrest warrant. They may also arrest someone when that person commits a crime or violation in his or her presence. They can even arrest someone who they have probable cause to believe has committed a crime, not in their presence. If the officer has reason to believe that a crime was committed, then they can arrest a suspect on those grounds as well.
Any law enforcement officer in this state has the right to arrest someone. As defined by NJ Law "law enforcement officer" means any person who is employed as a permanent full-time member of any State, county or municipal law enforcement agency, department, or division of those governments who is statutorily empowered to act for the detection, investigation, arrest, conviction, detention, or rehabilitation of persons violating the criminal laws of this State and statutorily required to successfully complete a training course approved by, or certified as being substantially equivalent to such an approved course, by the Police Training Commission pursuant to P.L.1961, c.56 (C.52:17B-66 et seq.).”
Arrests will stay on a criminal record indefinitely if the person does not apply to have them expunged. With arrests that did not result in a conviction or were never charged, offenders can petition the court immediately to have them removed. For minor drug and alcohol charges offenders must wait six months to a year then they can apply. For more severe convictions they must wait 1, 2, 3, 5, or 6 years before applying to have them expunged. First, they must also comply with a list of regulations before starting the application process. They must also complete their full sentence before applying.
Yes, NJ offers people the option of petitioning the court to get their records expunged as long as they complete their sentence. They also must comply with a list of eligibility requirements and then pay a fee. For each type of offense, there is a different waiting period. For arrests where they were never charged or convicted, there is no waiting period.
For the last year posted, 2016, NJ recorded 308,117 arrests. Of that total, 37,243 were for violent, serious offenses like murder, rape, robbery, burglary, larceny and aggravated assault. A large number of them, 63,040 were for drug charges. Another 23,579 were for DUIs, 113,687 were for different offenses, 8,902 and were for domestic and child abuse.
The popular arrests for 2017 in New Jersey was for All Other Offenses (except traffic) - 106,424, the same popularity of the arrest type was seen in Alabama, Alaska, and Arizona. The least popularity had Murder & Non-negligent Manslaughter arrests - with only 155 crimes a year.
|Murder & Non-negligent Manslaughter