NH state law enforcement agency is the department in charge of providing arrests and criminal records to the general public. The Criminal Records Unit gathers, stores and provides Criminal History Record Information (CHRI) to anyone who requests it. Someone can obtain New Hampshire arrest records through the mail, or using their walk-in service in Concord. They charge a $25 fee, per document processed. The price for non-profits is only $10. They can also provide FBI/federal records if needed. They have a form on their website that can be used to order records.
Yes, and the NH state law enforcement division provides records to the general public upon request. They do not offer an instant, online service but people can pick them up in person or mail in a request.
|Black or African American||10%|
|Offenders w/ reported race||3,562|
|Black or African American||10%|
|Victims w/ reported race||3,765|
New Hampshire criminal records are packed with information. A typical report will contain details about the arrest such as where it occurred, the date of arrest, what agency arrested them, the charges filed, the arresting officer’s information, if any vehicles were involved and the booking details. Additionally, included will be a whole profile for the person arrested with name, age, address, gender, height, weight, and more. Typically arrest records will also contain any other warrant and booking details including fingerprints as well as other police and criminal records associated with this person, along with court records related to any arrests, convictions, and sentencing.
Absolutely! Police reports in New Hampshire are public records. The New Hampshire State Police post weekly news blotters with details from various police reports throughout the week. Some of the information contained in those news stories and police reports are:
Additionally, they supply complete police reports with all the details. When making a request for a police report, you will need to supply the following information:
You can obtain copies by mail or visiting the local police station. There are fees involved ($18-$23 for up to 15 pages and $1 for each page after that).
There is no typical standard style for mugshots in New Hampshire. A suspect is usually wearing their street clothes, photographed against a gray or other plain background. Just like police reports, mugshots are also pretty easy to come by in the state of New Hampshire. An online search will reveal dozens of them from state government resources, private websites that store public records and news and media outfits.
The process of using mugshots during the booking process, after an arrest started back in 1888 when Alphonse Bertillon, a French policeman, made it a standard procedure. Other countries soon adopted his idea, and now all law enforcement agencies in most countries use them to help identify suspects, inform the public about criminals and find perpetrators who have harmed victims and witnesses.
When a person is arrested in New Hampshire, they will be handcuffed and taken to the local county or town jail for processing. New Hampshire has very strict procedures about how they handle booking suspects into the system. First, the arresting officer must ask the suspect the following questions:
Additionally, the officer must also:
Depending on the type of crime, officers may also ask the suspect for a DNA sample to compare with evidence.
The crime rate has increased over the past decade in New Hampshire, going from 1,528 crimes in 2006 to 2,503 by 38% higher than it was back in 2006. The largest percentage of violent crimes falls into the Aggravated Assault category, with Revised Rape being the least popular crime in the state.
NH police officers can arrest someone with an arrest warrant. They can also legally arrest someone without a warrant when someone commits a misdemeanor in their presence, or he or she has reason to believe that the person has committed an abuse of some type within the past twelve hours. Also, if he or she has probable cause that someone has committed a felony or misdemeanor and he or she is worried that they might harm someone or destroy evidence. If a felony is committed in the presence of an officer, or if they aware aware of one having been committed, they can also arrest them then.
Any police officer in NH can arrest a suspect with an arrest warrant. A police officer consists of local law enforcement police officers, state patrolman, sheriffs, deputy sheriffs, and other law enforcement agents given the power to arrest. Any private citizen can also arrest someone using a citizen’s arrest. They can use extreme force when taking them into custody but then they need to hand them over to the authorities.
Arrest records will stay on a criminal record forever if the person does nothing. If they were convicted of a crime, the rules are different than if they were arrested but never charged. If they were arrested but never charged, they don’t have to wait any time to request expungement, which in NH is called an annulment. Different classes of offenses carry different terms. Offenders will wait 1, 3, 5, or 10 years before they can request the annulment of their criminal offenses.
Yes, but the term in NH is annulled. Offenders must wait the specified amount of time first, after completion of their sentence and then they can petition the court to have their records annulled.
For the year 2017, NH recorded 21,223 arrests. Their overall crime rate was 15.81 per 1000 residents. Of that total, 2,668 were violent crimes, and 18,555 were property crimes.
Most of the violent crime offenders in New Hampshire were 20-29 and the largest percentage of violent crime victims were 20-29.
|Offenders w/ reported age||2,378|
|Victims w/ reported age||2,523|
Residence Home is the place where the majority of crimes in New Hampshire were committed, in most of the crime cases the offender was an acquaintance.
|Drug Store/Doctors Office/Hospital||59|
The popular arrests for 2017 in New Hampshire was for All Other Offenses (except traffic) - 14,803, the same popularity of the arrest type was seen in Alabama, Alaska, and Arizona. The least popularity had Murder & Non-negligent Manslaughter arrests - with only 9 crimes a year.
|Arrest Type||Under 18||All ages||Total arrests|
|Murder & Non-negligent Manslaughter||1||8||9|
|Motor Vehicle Theft||23||152||175|
|Forgery and Counterfeiting||5||292||297|
|Stolen property; buying, receiving, possessing||33||503||536|
|Weapons; carrying, possessing, etc.||5||139||144|
|Sex Offenses (except rape and prostitution)||24||99||123|
|Drug Abuse Violations||507||7,656||8,163|
|Offenses Against the Family and Children||10||202||212|
|Driving Under the Influence||36||4,805||4,841|
|All Other Offenses (except traffic)||865||13,938||14,803|
|Curfew and Loitering Law Violations||11||11||22|