Connecticut Arrest Records Search

Start your FREE search
The following is for informational purposes only

How to Look Up Arrest Records in Connecticut

State and local government law enforcement agencies maintain all Connecticut arrests records for the state. They charge $36 per criminal records which includes RAP sheets, arrests, warrants, charges, and other information. The general public can request records using the person’s full name and date of birth. They offer two other options as well along with fingerprint matching. Fingerprint searches are $75 and to have fingerprints taken it costs $15. When requesting state records, users must use their unique form DPS-0846-C and order by mail.

Are Connecticut Arrest Records Public?

Yes. CT allows the general public to request copies of arrest and criminal records. Arrest records requested processed through the State Police Bureau of Identification are not for Visas, Foreign Adoption, and Immigration. Those types must be handled internally through government channels.

Victims & Offenders by Gender and Race

Offenders by Gender

Victims by Gender

Offenders by Race

White49%
Black or African American40%
Unknown11%
Asian1%
Native Hawaiian0%
Offenders w/ reported race3,562

Victims by Race

White64%
Black or African American28%
Unknown5%
Asian1%
American Indian or Alaska Native1%
Native Hawaiian0%
Victims w/ reported race3,765

What Information You Can Find in a state Criminal Report?

What Information You Can Find in Connecticut Arrest Report?

Connecticut arrest records will contain basic information like name, age, date of birth, address, phone, gender, race, height weight, fingerprints and sometimes a mugshot. Also included will be arrests, warrants, charges, convictions, and RAP sheets. Often police reports will include driving records and accident history as well. Additionally, they will show the name of the officer who arrested the person, the booking agency, the date of arrest and charges filed.

Connecticut State Police Reports and Mugshots

Are Police Reports Public Record in Connecticut?

Police records are open to the public in Connecticut. However, The Division of Criminal Justice does not supply them; only the Connecticut State Police or the courts handle issuing copies. However, vehicle crash reports are available only to the parties involved.

You can easily obtain state police reports from the State Police in Connecticut for a $16 fee. You will have to fill out a form before getting your copy. There are different forms and fees for criminal records. You may have to provide your own ID when requesting copies.

The information contained in the police report will vary depending on the situation and type of crime. However, most will include:

  • The suspect’s name.
  • The date and time of the incident.
  • Whether or not the person was arrested.
  • Other offenders’ names.
  • A detailed description of what happened.
  • Photographs taken at the scene.
  • Witness testimony.
  • Name, rank, and badge number of the officer in charge.

If the person was arrested, the police report might be accompanied by mugshots, fingerprints, and other details.

Connecticut Mugshots

Connecticut has an extensive state website along with a law library site containing vast information about crimes, court cases, and criminals. Connecticut mugshots are public records and can be obtained from the local or state police. They may also be found online on informational databases or state correctional websites.

The term mugshot is an informal designation for a police photograph taken when someone is arrested. The practice began in the 1800s after photography was invented, and then a French policeman, Alphonse Bertillon, made it a standard part of the booking process. Typically, someone is photographed twice. Once from the front giving a clear picture of their face, and then again from the side (profile view). These mugshots help investigators to find criminals and help witnesses and victims identify assailants.

Connecticut Arrest Booking Process

In Connecticut, unless a warrant is issued, police must have “probable cause” before they can arrest you. If an officer witnesses you committing a crime, they can arrest you then too. Each arrest may differ slightly, but you will most likely be handcuffed and taken into custody. After being transported to the local county jail, you will be booked. That process may take a while and include:

  • Mugshots.
  • Fingerprinting.
  • Questioning. You have the right to remain silent and speak to a lawyer.
  • Your bail amount may be set by the courts.
  • Your belongings will be taken and stored for you.
  • You will be placed in a jail cell to wait until you can make bail or see the judge.

Most suspects will remain in jail until their hearings, which should take place within 48 hours.

Violent Crime Rates for the last 10 years

The crime rate has increased over the past decade in Connecticut, going from 6,425 crimes in 2006 to 7,796 by 17% higher than it was back in 2006. The largest percentage of violent crimes falls into the Aggravated Assault category, with Revised Rape being the least popular crime in the state.

Connecticut Violent Crime Rate Change

Arrest Laws

Connecticut Arrest Laws

CT local police have the right to arrest someone with or without a warrant in their jurisdiction. They can make a felony arrest with probable cause or witnessing a felony being committed. They can also arrest someone for committing a misdemeanor or felony while they are in pursuit of the subject. A police officer may even arrest someone outside their own jurisdiction with a warrant for a crime that was committed within their local area. State police are not governed by the same jurisdictional laws and may arrest anyone in any part of the state for any reason.

Who has a Power of Arrest?

Local and state police have the legal right to arrest someone with or without a warrant, based on specific probable cause laws. Probation officers can arrest juvenile delinquents and defendants who violate parole or probation. The state marshals when acting as peace officers can also arrest people. The state has a whole list of specialized roles like marine officers who can arrest offenders for boating violations. Private citizens can even arrest someone when in possession of knowledge of a crime within the past year.

How Long Will an Arrest Report Stay on Connecticut Criminal Records?

If someone was arrested but not charged with a crime, they must wait thirteen months before applying to have those charges expunged. For misdemeanors, the waiting period is three years, and for felonies, they have to wait five years. Needless to say, there will be a long period of time where these arrests will remain in someone’s record.

Can you Expunge Your Public Records?

Yes, some minor misdemeanors and felonies can be expunged. The waiting periods are three and five years respectively. Some violent and sex offenses are not eligible to be expunged. Juvenile records can be expunged much more easily in this state.

The Arrest Rate in Connecticut

Arrest Rate in Connecticut

As of September, of last year, there were 41,343 arrest warrants in this state. Seven thousand forty-three of them were for felonies, and 1,025 were issued, and 705 were served. For 2017, 3,844 violent crimes, 14,074 property crimes, and 190 sex crimes were committed here. Of the total crimes in CT for the year 2017, 8,133 of them were committed by juveniles (under the age of 18). The total for the year, all crimes, all ages was 100,211.

State Offender and Victim Age Group Statistics

Most of the violent crime offenders in Connecticut were 20-29 and the largest percentage of violent crime victims were 20-29.

Offender Age

0-90.1%
10-1917.1%
20-2929.0%
30-3919.1%
40-4911.1%
50-595.7%
60-691.3%
70-790.3%
80-890.0%
90-990.0%
Unknown16.2%
Offenders w/ reported age4,367

Victim Age

0-92.3%
10-1917.8%
20-2931.5%
30-3920.8%
40-4912.6%
50-5910.0%
60-693.7%
70-790.8%
80-890.4%
90-990.1%
Victims w/ reported age4,704

Crime Victim Demographics

Residence Home is the place where the majority of crimes in Connecticut were committed, in most of the crime cases the offender was a stranger.

Location Type

Residence Home1,900
Highway/Alley/Street/Sidewalk1,256
Parking Garage/Lot316
Convenience Store235
Department/Discount Store158
Restaurant137
Unknown114
Gas Station109
Bank100
Bar/Nightclub91

Victim’s Relationship to the Offender

Stranger1,182
Relationship Unknown1,070
Acquaintance829
Boyfriend/Girlfriend568
Otherwise Known489
Offender322
Other Family Member138
Spouse127
Friend120
Sibling85

Connecticut Arrest Records by Type of Crime

The popular arrests for 2017 in Connecticut was for All Other Offenses (except traffic) - 28,567, the same popularity of the arrest type was seen in Alabama, Alaska, and Arizona. The least popularity had Curfew and Loitering Law Violations arrests - with only 6 crimes a year.

Arrest TypeUnder 18All agesTotal arrests
Violent Crime4363,8444,280
Property Crime1,85814,07415,932
Murder & Non-negligent Manslaughter68591
Rape22190212
Robbery1971,0821,279

Connecticut Department of Emergency Services and Public Protection

Is your State Safer than Connecticut?

Select your state and find out:

Connecticut
Crime rate - 2,208
The crime rate in the last 5 years - up by 17%

5 Safest Counties in the Area

A list of 5 counties in Connecticut that have the lowest arrest rate in 2017

CountyCrime Rate
Tolland County884.89
Windham County1,081.48
Litchfield County1,490.38
Middlesex County1,557.64
Fairfield County1,683.19

State County Arrests

Connecticut Arrest Records Search