The State Police collects and maintains arrest records for the state. The general public can request Arkansas arrest records with someone’s name and date of birth. A person can also get a copy of their own arrest records. Anyone requesting will have to pay a $25 fee for each document requested. There are specific forms to be used when ordering, and the user can have a copy sent directly to the recipient.
The Freedom of Information Act FOIA from 1967 guarantees the public’s right to access criminal information including arrest records. When obtaining records directly from the state, the requestor will need the person’s written authorization.
|Black or African American||43%|
|Offenders w/ reported race||3,562|
|Black or African American||41%|
|Victims w/ reported race||3,765|
An arrest record will be complete with name, date of birth, age, race, gender, height, weight, physical description, address, phone number and next of kin. It will also show the booking details, the name of the arresting officer, the location where the arrest took place, the date of the arrest, and vehicle details if one was involved. Background checks often include Arkansas mugshots, fingerprints, the arresting agencies details and other information about the crime.
Police reports in Arkansas are public records, and anyone can get copies by visiting the state police or going online and filling out a form. There is a cost associated with different types of police reports (typically $5-$10). Some incident reports are only available after 8 hours.
Additionally, some state police stations have a telephone service where you can call to get a summary report over the phone. For example, by calling a phone number in Little Rock, you can get access to the following types of reports.
Each state police barracks will have their own operating hours, where you can visit to request documents and get copies of full police reports, including fingerprints, mugshots, and details of the crime or incident.
Along with police records, mugshots are also public records in Arkansas. In fact, many of the local Sheriff’s Offices have a list of current jail inmates, a booking roster, and they openly post mugshots on the internet for anyone to see. One example is the Jefferson County Sheriff’s Office that has an Inmate Roster with almost 350 jail inmates, each with a mug shot, booking number, booking date and time, and the charges against the suspect. Clicking on a mugshot or name will provide you with even more details.
When a suspect is arrested and brought into the police station, they are fingerprinted, and mugshots are taken as part of the booking process. Mugshots have been used to identify criminals since the 1880s. These pictures are kept with the suspect’s file and become a part of their permanent criminal record. Mugshots are rarely flattering, and most include a front-facing shot and a side shot (profile) to help witnesses and victims, identify people accused of crimes.
People are arrested after a warrant is issued or after an officer witnesses a crime. When a suspect is taken into custody, the following things happen:
The suspect will remain in custody until they can pay bail or until they see the judge at their hearing.
The crime rate has decreased over the past decade in Arkansas, going from 12,373 crimes in 2006 to 12,095 by 16% lower than it was back in 2006. The largest percentage of violent crimes falls into the Aggravated Assault category, with Revised Rape being the least popular crime in the state.
Any law enforcement officers have the right to arrest someone in AR. Sheriff’s office patrolman, highway patrolmen, and district attorney investigators can also arrest someone in conjunction with a crime. Any licensed law enforcement agent is allowed to arrest someone in AR. Along with that, all residents also have the right to perform a citizen’s arrest if they witness a crime or if they suspect someone of committing a felony. If someone does perform a citizen’s arrest, they have the right to confiscate the person’s weapons, but must turn the person and all weapons over to the police.
Arrest records in AR will stay on a person’s record for a period of three years. However, if the crimes were felonies, then those criminal records will remain on their record long after the arrest records have been removed. Convictions will stay on an arrest record unless they apply to get them expunged. This rule does not apply to sealed or expunged records.
If convicted, arrest records will stay with someone for life unless they petition to a judge to have them “set aside.” Most often criminals with felony convictions apply for a “set aside” as it does not affect misdemeanors as much.
Only “eligible” records can be be sealed (AR version of expunging). If someone committed a misdemeanor, or a Class C or Class D felony, they have to wait five years before requesting a sealing. If they were a first time offender, they could also request their records be sealed.
For last year, 232,289 total crimes were committed in AR. Of those 16,461 were violent crimes and 97,673 were property related. AR’s crime rate per 1000 residents is 38.19. Of the total crimes, 126,960 were committed by men and the remainder by women. Most of the crimes were committed by people 25-39 years old. The total of property stolen or destroyed by crime was $144,216,65. Of that total, only 27.3% (39,368,953) was recovered.
Most of the violent crime offenders in Arkansas were 20-29 and the largest percentage of violent crime victims were 20-29.
|Offenders w/ reported age||15,453|
|Victims w/ reported age||15,855|
Residence Home is the place where the majority of crimes in Arkansas were committed, in most of the crime cases the offender was a relationship unknown.
|Other Family Member||394|
The popular arrests for 2017 in Arkansas was for All Other Offenses (except traffic) - 56,173, the same popularity of the arrest type was seen in Alabama, Alaska, and Arizona. The least popularity had Arson arrests - with only 45 crimes a year.
|Arrest Type||Under 18||All ages||Total arrests|
|Murder & Non-negligent Manslaughter||15||138||153|